New To Mac-Forums?

Welcome to our community! Join the discussion today by registering your FREE account. If you have any problems with the registration process, please contact us!

Get your questions answered by community gurus Advice and insight from world-class Apple enthusiasts Exclusive access to members-only contests, giveaways and deals

Join today!

Start a Discussion

Mac-Forums Brief

Subscribe to Mac-Forums Brief to receive special offers from Mac-Forums partners and sponsors

Join the conversation RSS
OS X - Apps and Games Discussion of applications and games available for Mac OS X.

Adium and Camino crash on start

Post Reply New Thread Subscribe

helpmhost

helpmhost is on a distinguished road

Hi,

I am very new to Macs, so please bear that in mind.

I installed Adium and Camino and everything was working fine. I later installed macgpg and mac GPG Keychain Access. I installed all the programs using my admin account. However, I do not use the admin account for anything other than administration.

So I logged back in as my regular account, opened GPG Keychain Access and click on Generate (to create my key). GPG Keychain Access crashed. It crashed everytime I open it and click Generate. I temporarily gave up.

I tried to open Camino and Adium, and they both crash (all my other programs still open successfully).

I have tried removing the preferences files for all those programs as well as removing the Application Support files for both.
To be exact:
~/Library/Preferences/com.adiumX.adiumX.plist
~/Library/Preferences/com.adiumX.crashReporter.plist
~/Library/Preferences/org.mozilla.camino.plist
~/Library/Preferences/net.sourceforge.macgpg.GPGKeychain.plist
~/Library/Application Support/Adium 2.0
~/Library/Application Support/Camino

Removing all those did not fix it.

When I log in as the admin, all the programs still work and I can create a GPG key in GPG Keychain Access.