New To Mac-Forums?

Welcome to our community! Join the discussion today by registering your FREE account. If you have any problems with the registration process, please contact us!

Get your questions answered by community gurus Advice and insight from world-class Apple enthusiasts Exclusive access to members-only contests, giveaways and deals

Join today!

Start a Discussion

Mac-Forums Brief

Subscribe to Mac-Forums Brief to receive special offers from Mac-Forums partners and sponsors

Join the conversation RSS
OS X - Apps and Games Discussion of applications and games available for Mac OS X.

iMac - Installation

Post Reply New Thread Subscribe

Gerald

Gerald is on a distinguished road

I am a music producer and I had installed a couple of programs on there for music production. But for some reason I installed them incorrectly. But I didn't know how to uninstall them so I googled it and it said to transfer the files to the trash so I did

and after that I shutdown the computer and restarted it. But when I tried to re-install the program it wouldn't let me

and now I have a couple of questions

Is there a system restore for macs?

Is their a way to boot it over, so I can start from scratch with the original programs on it?
QUOTE Thanks
MacHeadCase

First, let me welcome you to Mac-Forums, Gerald. I hope you enjoy it here and hang around.

Second, when you try to uninstall things you can, yes, do it by hand but some programs scatter some files all over the hard drive so it's handier to use an uninstaller like AppZapper if the program doesn't come with its own uninstaller, that is. You can always do a SpotLight search for rogue files on your hard drive though.

Third, I think the apps you are trying to reinstall are finding the rogue files and think that you already have the apps installed.