Mac Forums

Mac Forums (http://www.mac-forums.com/forums/)
-   OS X - Apps and Games (http://www.mac-forums.com/forums/os-x-apps-games/)
-   -   Azureus Help (http://www.mac-forums.com/forums/os-x-apps-games/46486-azureus-help.html)

logic_user99 12-02-2006 10:51 AM

Azureus Help
 
Hi hi,

Now, before any moral high-horses are ridden into the night, I'm not trying to steal films or anything! I'm mearly confused as to why I can't download anything at all with this software, and need some help!

So; when I download a torrent from a website (I've got that far!) and boot into Az, my 'status' sticks on the yellow face. Apparently I have NAT issues. Although I've been a Mac user for a fair while, my networking expertise is somewhat lacking. :blind:

I've tried looking for help on Google, but canny find alot that help! Can anyone help me to get connected to some torrent downloads through Azureus?

I'm using OX10.4.8, and a PBG4.

cradom 12-03-2006 09:35 AM

Assuming you're behind a router...check this out:
http://www.portforward.com/english/r...41/Azureus.htm

Or just use http://portforward.com and look up your router. You might need to set up a static address. If you're on cable like I am, try a different DNS server:
http://208.67.219.60/

MrJoshua 12-03-2006 09:43 AM

Yeah, Port Forwarding on your Router is most likely what you're missing.

logic_user99 12-03-2006 03:28 PM

Router? Does that mean Airport?! Told you I was a n00b...

My 'set up' goes thusly...

ADSL2+ modem into Airport box...wireless to laptop. Disco.

I've not got a fixed IP addy, so I don't know what that would mean...! Eeb.

logic_user99 12-03-2006 04:00 PM

So, I've been looking at that port forwarding malarcky and it makes spit all sense to me!

I've got a Thomson Speedtouch 510 v6 modem, and have found the settings IP. Please can someone explain the process in baby speak? I'm not good at this kinda stuff, and want to get downloading a few bits n bobs...! Just to see if it works, of course!

cradom 12-03-2006 08:04 PM

Go here: http://www.portforward.com/english/r...me/Azureus.htm
It's not your modem you need to set, it's the airport. Note about halfway down the page it says you need a static ip address in your router/airport. Click that link to see how. If your isp doesn't have set DNS numbers, see my above post.

schweb 12-03-2006 08:14 PM

I would highly recommend Xtorrent instead, especially if you're not sure what you're doing with ports, etc. Xtorrent will auto-configure your Airport (as will Acquisition if you'd rather use that).

locoender 12-03-2006 10:48 PM

I have a problem too, I can d/l things, but I cant seem to be able to upload, i believe that I opened the port that I use in the shearing preferences...any suggestions?

logic_user99 12-04-2006 01:41 PM

Okies. I D/L'd XTorrent, and have got something downloading. However, the D/L rate is averaging 0.6kbps and I have a 16meg connection!

Anything I can do to rectify this?


All times are GMT -4. The time now is 04:48 AM.

Powered by vBulletin
Copyright ©2000 - 2014, Jelsoft Enterprises Ltd.