New To Mac-Forums?

Welcome to our community! Join the discussion today by registering your FREE account. If you have any problems with the registration process, please contact us!

Get your questions answered by community gurus Advice and insight from world-class Apple enthusiasts Exclusive access to members-only contests, giveaways and deals

Join today!

Start a Discussion

Mac-Forums Brief

Subscribe to Mac-Forums Brief to receive special offers from Mac-Forums partners and sponsors

Join the conversation RSS
OS X - Apps and Games Discussion of applications and games available for Mac OS X.

optimization software

Post Reply New Thread Subscribe

bschuteker

I am new to the world of MAC. I have to service some for work and have had some users ask me if there is some software that will speed them back up. They say that they are begining to slow down. I am comparing this to windows defrag or norton system works. Can anyone point me in the right direction?

Thanks in advance,

Bill
QUOTE Thanks
coach_z

coach_z is a splendid one to beholdcoach_z is a splendid one to beholdcoach_z is a splendid one to beholdcoach_z is a splendid one to beholdcoach_z is a splendid one to beholdcoach_z is a splendid one to beholdcoach_z is a splendid one to beholdcoach_z is a splendid one to behold
Mac Specs: i dont have no mac's

if they are left on 24/7 they will do all necessary maintenance that they will ever need, there is no need to defrag or anything like that. your not using windows anymore!

the computers file system "defrags on the fly" meaning that it shuffles around your information all of the time

their computers most likely arent slowing up they just arent as fast as they want them to be anymore.

do a forum search for "repair permissions" that is the only sort of "maintenance" that i do and im not sure if it actually speeds anything up or not
-chris

MoTM honor roll...
when?
i dont remember
QUOTE Thanks
bschuteker

Thanks Chris,