New To Mac-Forums?

Welcome to our community! Join the discussion today by registering your FREE account. If you have any problems with the registration process, please contact us!

Get your questions answered by community gurus Advice and insight from world-class Apple enthusiasts Exclusive access to members-only contests, giveaways and deals

Join today!

Start a Discussion

Mac-Forums Brief

Subscribe to Mac-Forums Brief to receive special offers from Mac-Forums partners and sponsors

Join the conversation RSS
OS X - Apps and Games Discussion of applications and games available for Mac OS X.

apps taking too much hard drive space - macbook

Post Reply New Thread Subscribe

sara28

sara28 is on a distinguished road

System information says I have 55GB of apps on my hard drive. I am new to OS X but this seems way to much for the literally 10 apps I have installed. They are however "big ones" like iMovie, xCode, MS Office,... I have installed a third party tool to view the disk space and it measures app directory up to 10GB which is what I would expect. Any suggestions what might be taking up the space? I have however found a 21GB file in documents named Microsoft User Data - are that and similar files a reason for those 55GB? And how do i get rid of them?
QUOTE Thanks
TattooedMac

TattooedMac has a brilliant futureTattooedMac has a brilliant futureTattooedMac has a brilliant futureTattooedMac has a brilliant futureTattooedMac has a brilliant futureTattooedMac has a brilliant futureTattooedMac has a brilliant futureTattooedMac has a brilliant futureTattooedMac has a brilliant futureTattooedMac has a brilliant futureTattooedMac has a brilliant future
Mac Specs: 21" iMac 2.9Ghz 10.9.4 13"MBP 2.9Ghz i7 Yosemite 10.10 ~ iPhone5 iOS 8 ~ iPad Mini iOS 8 ~ ATV3 6.1

Welcome to the forums. . .

To start off with, iMovie and Xcode take up 9GB between them, and if you have other iMovie Packs then that could be higher. MS Office comes in at 1.7Gb so there is 10GB straight up.