URL in Word doesn't work in PDF
    I have a document that has a hyperlink in Word to a standard website. The link works perfectly in Word but will not work when I save as PDF or "Print to Save as PDF".

The link shows up in the PDF as a link (blue, underlined) but it's not clickable.

Any ideas how to make this work? Do I have a setting turned off somewhere?

Using Word for Mac 2011 and Preview.

Specs:
    MacBook w/2.26 GHz Intel Corre 2 Duo running OS 10.6.8
    I'm no expert but my experience is that "print to save as PDF" is basically more or less taking a picture of the document and saving that picture as a pdf file. The hyperlinks don't get translated as hyperlinks since this is just a "print" of the document. Sort of like a screenshot of your desktop. None of the icons are clickable. My explanation may be wrong but that's been my experience after "printing" lots of documents and web pages to PDF.
    -Steve
    "The road goes on forever and the party never ends"

Specs:
    MBP17 8GB 2x960GB SSDs 10.9 • MBA11 4/128GB 10.9 • TC 2TB • TV3 • iPh6 128GB • iPh6+ 128GB
    Quote Originally Posted by sryoder View Post
    I'm no expert but my experience is that "print to save as PDF" is basically more or less taking a picture of the document and saving that picture as a pdf file. The hyperlinks don't get translated as hyperlinks since this is just a "print" of the document.
    It depends on the PDF engine used, but generally this is not the case: hyperlinks are preserved, when Print -- Save as PDF is used:

This is in Preview ^^

Interactive, I am not familiar with MS Office, but I thought all office suites have a built-in PDF creator - OpenOffice and Libre Office certainly do. If the problem persists, it might be worth checking these out - great software, not to mention it's free.

There could be a couple of reasons for hyperlink not to work, as far as I can see: