free desktop publishing software?
    So I'm new to Macs and, to tell you the truth, rather new to the whole computer thing, because I'm old ; ) My faith community is trying to start a printed newsletter, and we are looking for free (as we are poor) desktop publishing software for Mac, as we only have Macs among us. I've seen Scribus but it says it has a steep learning curve which would be hard for us. The newsletter is just going to be pretty simple, with articles and photos, I don't suppose a newsletter can be that complex anyway. What is the best free (or maybe under $50) software that will not be too hard to learn? We want to make sure to download legally, so we are not looking to pirate anything. Any advice would be gratefully received. Thank you!

Specs:
    27" i7 iMac, 24" iMac, 13" Macbook Air, iPhone 5 & 5S, iPod Nano 7th Gen, iPad 2 16GB WiFi, iPad 3
    Here are a couple of sites to look through:
    Newsletter Design Software for Mac
    Mac Publishing Software Review 2013 - TopTenREVIEWS

Looks like Pages, available for $14.99 from the App Store, might be a good fit for you.
    --
    Regards
    ...Ashwin

Be sure to read the Community Guidelines | The more information you provide, the better answers you get, remember GIGO.

Specs:
    2012 13" MBP (2.5 i5, 8GB)
    If it's a simple newsletter and you've got $15 to spare, Pages (as Raz0r recommended) is probably a good bet. It's better at this type of thing than any other word processor and it's fairly cheap.
    Important Links: Community Guidelines : Use the reputation system if you've been helped.
    M-F Blog :: Write for the blog
    Writing a Quality Post

thank you! I'm headed off for some tips on Pages.

using Pages to create a newsletter