Mac Forums

Mac Forums (http://www.mac-forums.com/forums/)
-   OS X - Apps and Games (http://www.mac-forums.com/forums/os-x-apps-games/)
-   -   Question re. "security message" when opening different apps (http://www.mac-forums.com/forums/os-x-apps-games/265494-question-re-security-message-when-opening-different-apps.html)

Maximus 02-01-2012 05:21 AM

Question re. "security message" when opening different apps
 
1 Attachment(s)
Hey,

Does anyone know how to disable a very annoying message that always comes up when I open up, for instance, Skype on my MBA, running Lion.

Message reads:
<<"Skype" is an application downloaded from the Internet. Are you sure you want to open it?

Safari downloaded this file on 28 October 2011.>>

Just in case, my Firewall is turned off and even during the "on" setting, I have the Skype app added to the "safe list".

Any ideas?

McYukon 02-01-2012 03:14 PM

Completely disable quarantine of downloaded files - Mac OS X Hints

However, I'd keep it enabled. Lets say a rogue app somehow gets on your Mac, has some script that opens it.
That dialoge would stop it from opening and you would know it exists.

Your Mac, your choice ;)

McYukon 02-01-2012 03:35 PM

Wait… does this dialoge come up every time you open a application no matter how many times it has been opened before?

Maximus 02-04-2012 02:37 AM

Quote:

Originally Posted by McYukon (Post 1364464)
Wait… does this dialoge come up every time you open a application no matter how many times it has been opened before?

Thanks for the tip.


Well...specifically for Skype, this message comes up every time I open the app...no matter how many times I've "ok'd" it before, it still comes up.

chas_m 02-04-2012 05:20 AM

This means you are running Skype for a disk image and have never actually installed it properly.

McYukon 02-04-2012 05:45 PM

Yup, what chas_m said is probably what is happening, if not let use know ;)

http://www.mac-forums.com/forums/swi...lications.html

TattooedMac 02-04-2012 06:14 PM

Quote:

Originally Posted by chas_m (Post 1365667)
This means you are running Skype for a disk image and have never actually installed it properly.

Not necessarily. I have had this pop up at times where have had to force quit a App and re-open it. Its happened when i have done a MainMenu clean up and opened up Apps. This happens to me at unexpected times. I know where the OP is coming from.
Its hasn't bugged me enough to find a fix, but it does happen when you aren't running it from a disk image . . . . .

Cheers

Slydude 02-04-2012 06:18 PM

True but that is not really typical of Skype. I don't remember seeing that the last time I used Skype. Barring the situations you mentioned such as after force quits, the only time I see that is when running from a disk image or the first run after an install.

Maximus 02-05-2012 04:46 AM

Thanks guys. It turns out that somehow the app wasn't installed properly. After I trashed it and reinstalled it again, the message no o=longer appears when I open the app.

Cheers!

TattooedMac 02-05-2012 05:42 AM

Quote:

Originally Posted by Slydude (Post 1365920)
True but that is not really typical of Skype. I don't remember seeing that the last time I used Skype. Barring the situations you mentioned such as after force quits, the only time I see that is when running from a disk image or the first run after an install.

I know what your saying and glad the OP took the advice and all is good. I have it random, and not necessarily with Skype. HB is another that does it for me too. Not a huge deal as i havnt poked out a answer. Very rarely too.
I got gremlins lol

Maximus 02-05-2012 05:47 AM

1 Attachment(s)
Quote:

Originally Posted by TattooedMac (Post 1366104)
I know what your saying and glad the OP took the advice and all is good. I have it random, and not necessarily with Skype. HB is another that does it for me too. Not a huge deal as i havnt poked out a answer. Very rarely too.
I got gremlins lol

hehe, yea!

One other thing that bugs me are the messages that pop up once I enable Firewall.
"Do you want the application "app name" to accept incoming network connections? Clicking Deny may limit the application's behaviour. This setting can be changed in the Firewall pane of Security preferences."

However, even though I have the app in the "safe list" the message still crops up...very annoying. Any way of making these go away, apart from turning off the Firewall?

Maximus 02-07-2012 05:21 AM

No one else finds it annoying every time you open an app (such as iTunes or Word) and with Firewall enabled, the system always asks if the app is to accept incoming connections (even though it is safe listed)???

McYukon 02-07-2012 01:51 PM

That problem only arises when you modify a code signed Application. By changing the icon, editing it's internals, etc.
On a clean, freshly installed iTunes version and other software as well this problem does not arise unless you change icons, etc.

This is why I'm annoyed with Skype, they take it to a even more extreme level with Skype 5. Change anything, anything at all in it's icon appearances, and it will refuse to launch because it can't verify itself anymore. :\

Maximus 02-08-2012 05:29 AM

Quote:

Originally Posted by McYukon (Post 1367064)
That problem only arises when you modify a code signed Application. By changing the icon, editing it's internals, etc.
On a clean, freshly installed iTunes version and other software as well this problem does not arise unless you change icons, etc.

This is why I'm annoyed with Skype, they take it to a even more extreme level with Skype 5. Change anything, anything at all in it's icon appearances, and it will refuse to launch because it can't verify itself anymore. :\

Well, then this makes it even more peculiar, because I never made any kind of changes to the apps / icons / etc...as you mention in your reply.

The picture talks about printerAgent - I don't even know this app, have never seen it or changed it...this is so bizarre...I can't even find it in my directory...I simply safe listed a similar one just in case: "com.hp.printerAgent.plist"

chas_m 02-08-2012 06:26 AM

Quote:

Originally Posted by Maximus (Post 1366957)
No one else finds it annoying every time you open an app (such as iTunes or Word) and with Firewall enabled, the system always asks if the app is to accept incoming connections (even though it is safe listed)???

You could just turn off the software firewall. It's unnecessary and was shipped in the "off" position by default. For a reason.


All times are GMT -4. The time now is 02:36 PM.

Powered by vBulletin
Copyright ©2000 - 2014, Jelsoft Enterprises Ltd.