New To Mac-Forums?

Welcome to our community! Join the discussion today by registering your FREE account. If you have any problems with the registration process, please contact us!

Get your questions answered by community gurus Advice and insight from world-class Apple enthusiasts Exclusive access to members-only contests, giveaways and deals

Join today!

Start a Discussion

Mac-Forums Brief

Subscribe to Mac-Forums Brief to receive special offers from Mac-Forums partners and sponsors

Join the conversation RSS
OS X - Apps and Games Discussion of applications and games available for Mac OS X.

trying to install logic pro 9 but only have 32mb video card instaead of 64md

Post Reply New Thread Subscribe

count duckula

count duckula is on a distinguished road

Hi, I'm new to using macs, I'm only using an old 2003/4 G5. I'm trying to install a program called logic pro 9, it starts to install but then says it is recommended to 64mg graphics card in stead of a 32mb card that I have. It says that it is recommended implying that I don't have to use a 64mb but theres only a option to 'close' which just quits the whole install. Is there any way to some how bypass this recommendation pop up telling to swap the 32mb for the 64mb?

I have no problem ripping the card out, or buying a 64mb card(if I can find such an old thing somewhere) its just that I want to install the program now!

plus are the slots in a mac PCI slots? the card in side is a radeon 7000 mac32m, it looks very much like an old PCI video card, but the slots inside the mac are longer than the usual pci/PCIe slots in a PC. The PCI card fits and works in these 'longer slots'(sorry I don't know what they are called, like I said I'm new...) considering this looks like just a PCI card, will any PCI graphics card work, or do I indeed need specific 'mac card'?

many thanks,
nate.
QUOTE Thanks
louishen