New To Mac-Forums?

Welcome to our community! Join the discussion today by registering your FREE account. If you have any problems with the registration process, please contact us!

Get your questions answered by community gurus Advice and insight from world-class Apple enthusiasts Exclusive access to members-only contests, giveaways and deals

Join today!

Start a Discussion

Mac-Forums Brief

Subscribe to Mac-Forums Brief to receive special offers from Mac-Forums partners and sponsors

Join the conversation RSS
OS X - Apps and Games Discussion of applications and games available for Mac OS X.

Apple Mail will not retrieve emails

Post Reply New Thread Subscribe

hughvane

hughvane is just really nicehughvane is just really nicehughvane is just really nicehughvane is just really nicehughvane is just really nice
Mac Specs: MacMini 2.4, 4 Gb, OS 10.9 and 10.6; MacBook 2.4, 2 Gb, OS 10.6.8

OS 10.6.7, Mail 4.5

In trying to help a complete novice into the world of Apple applications and MacOS, we have run into a block wall, utterly immovable.

No matter what Mail prefs/settings are tried, Mail will not retrieve emails from the server (there is no problem sending via smtp).

Have spent hours (literally) with online and phone help at the ISP, testing different settings, but whilst test mails are going through okay, the user simply cannot retrieve them via Mail (Webmail okay).

Any brilliant thoughts before we ditch Mail altogether and try an email app that actually works?

ABCDEFGHIJKLMNOPQRSTUVWXYZ
Please post your Mac (or other) specs and MacOS version in your post, your profile or your signature. It helps us to help you better.

I'm leaving now to go and find myself. If I should return before I get back, please ask me to wait.
QUOTE Thanks
dtravis7