New To Mac-Forums?

Welcome to our community! Join the discussion today by registering your FREE account. If you have any problems with the registration process, please contact us!

Get your questions answered by community gurus Advice and insight from world-class Apple enthusiasts Exclusive access to members-only contests, giveaways and deals

Join today!

Start a Discussion

Mac-Forums Brief

Subscribe to Mac-Forums Brief to receive special offers from Mac-Forums partners and sponsors

Join the conversation RSS
OS X - Apps and Games Discussion of applications and games available for Mac OS X.

Numbers Help

Post Reply New Thread Subscribe

CPM

CPM is on a distinguished road

Hi, this is my first time actually dealing with numbers and functions even though I've had my mac for awhile (1 year). I'm trying to create a running log for the summer, and the template just isn't what I want. I'm trying to create one column header with the day, and want to take the value of the cell above each cell in that column and add 1 to it, in order to get a running list of numbers (which would be the day) that column (eg: 1,2,3...). However, I can't figure out how to drag a certain formula (=Sum(A2+1)) down a column so that it applies to a whole column and so that the fourth row (A4) has the formula (=Sum(A3+1)) and the fifth row (A5) has the formula (=Sum(A4+1)) and so on. I've worked with excel, and there you just drag the first cell down when it has that first formula in it and it will automatically update it for each individual row.

Could anyone also help me with how to drag any formula to apply to all columns using the cells in their row of course, so that each row will have one cell with the time I ran, one with the distance, and one with the pace (it's basically the same question as above, but more general).

I know this is a little technical, but please ask me if I need to clarify something.

Thanks!
QUOTE Thanks
RavingMac