I just started working with iPhoto a couple of days ago, switching away from Picasa. I was just wondering; When iPhoto imports pictures into its library, does it make a copy of every single picture? Thereby taking up a significant amount of extra disk space? Picasa doesn't do this, that simply uses the pictures in its library and will only make a "copy" of the picture when you decide to export the picture yourself.

Secondly, is there any way to permanently disable "faces"? I find it rather annoying and since I won't use it much (if at all) I'd rather turn it off and prevent iPhoto taking up yet more of my hard drive space. I find it very annoying that so much space is taken up by iPhoto without permission.

Cheers in advance!