Mac Forums

Mac Forums (http://www.mac-forums.com/forums/)
-   OS X - Apps and Games (http://www.mac-forums.com/forums/os-x-apps-games/)
-   -   Disable Vodafone Mobile Broadband from startup (http://www.mac-forums.com/forums/os-x-apps-games/225360-disable-vodafone-mobile-broadband-startup.html)

mrbeast87 01-05-2011 12:00 PM

Disable Vodafone Mobile Broadband from startup
 
Hi everyone,

A couple of days ago, I installed Vodafone Mobile Broadband to have internet access on holidays. And I want to keep it installed, so next holidays I won't have to reinstall the application.

The problem is it starts up with OSX, and it's processes are consuming 10.6MB of physical memory! Since I only use the application sporadically, it doesn't make sense keeping it running everyday.

The application itself doesn't allow to remove it from startup. I've tried the Login Items in System Preferences, but it's not there also...

Does anyone know how can I disable this application from starting up?
Thanks in advance :)

mrbeast87 01-09-2011 07:45 PM

Can anyone help me out?

Buzzard2010 01-09-2011 08:32 PM

If there is no option to disable it at login from the login items screen, then there could either be an option in the program itself to disable it from starting automatically or there could be its own preferences pane in System Preferences.
Hope this helps.

- Simon

mrbeast87 01-11-2011 11:43 AM

Thanks for the reply Buzzard! But this application doesn't have it's own preference pane in System preferences, and has I already said, the application itself doesn't allow to disable it from startup...

Buzzard2010 01-11-2011 11:58 AM

Have a look in /System/Library/StartupItems to see if there is any mention of the application in there.

- Simon

mrbeast87 01-12-2011 01:05 PM

Nope Simon, that directory is completely empty...

redruth 10-28-2014 07:52 AM

Disable Vodafone Mobile Broadband from startup
 
Hi, using CleanMyMac2 you can go in to Extensions and remove the Vodafone extension. Worked perfectly for me.

MacInWin 10-28-2014 11:14 AM

Using CleanMyMac can lead to a host of other problems. I recommend against it. Did the program come with an uninstaller? BTW, 10MB of memory is not a huge amount, unless you are really tight for memory. It might be best to just let it go.

redruth 10-28-2014 12:30 PM

hmmm - I have experienced no problems and have used this program for years...

and yes it has an uninstaller - which did not remove the extension, but the extension remover did...

cradom 10-28-2014 12:54 PM

Quote:

Originally Posted by redruth (Post 1615603)
which did not remove the extension, but the extension remover did...

I hope you're not referring to CleanMyMac? If so, we'll probably hear from you again, probably in a "I have a virus" thread.


All times are GMT -4. The time now is 04:50 AM.

Powered by vBulletin
Copyright ©2000 - 2014, Jelsoft Enterprises Ltd.