Results 1 to 2 of 2
  1. #1

    Member Since
    Aug 10, 2010
    Time Machine Deletion of Previous Backup
    I'm trying to make sure that I have a complete time machine backup of my macbook pro b/c I'd like to re-format/rebuild... However, I'm out of room on my external hard drive I use for time machine...

    As such, I found link that showed how to delete previous backup date in time machine and deleted the oldest date backup...

    Question: If I did that, and also did a current backup today... Would I have EVERYTHING I need to rebuild my computer as it was?

    OR Did I delete something that I can't get back?

    Basically, I can delete the entire time machine backup series for the laptop, and do a fresh complete backup but was trying to avoid that if possible...

    Any thoughts?

    Thanks very much,


  2. #2

    TattooedMac's Avatar
    Member Since
    May 19, 2009
    Waiting for a mate . . .
    21" iMac 2.9Ghz 16GB RAM & 13"MBP 2.9Ghz i7 8GB RAM 10.10.3, iPhone5 & iPad Air 2 iOS 8.3, ATV3
    Welcome Mark
    As your Ext HD gets full TM will automatically delete the oldest backup you have on your Ext before putting the newest update on.
    Havnt happend to me but im sure it will ask you before hand if it does and as long as there wasnt something in the deleted backup you should be fine to do a complete reinstall of the OS with out any problems.
    then use Migration Assistant via Applications>Utilities to bring it all back over.
    Waht OS are you running ??
    If Leopard and before there is the 2 options Clean Instal or Archive and Install and if its Snow Leopard it does by default a Archive and Install. If you wnt to Clean install it you need to boot off the install goto Disk Utility Wipe the drive Close Disk Utility then it will bring you to the Installer window from where you can do a complete install of the OS

    Hope it helps some

    Dont forget to use the Reputation System if someone has helped you out !!!
    Arguing with a zealot is only slightly easier than tunneling through a mountain with your forehead!!!!!
    MoTM ☆☆☆

Thread Information

Users Browsing this Thread

There are currently 1 users browsing this thread. (0 members and 1 guests)

Similar Threads

  1. Trying to downgrade from Yosemite back to previous OS X using Time Machine....
    By voices_carry66 in forum OS X - Operating System
    Replies: 3
    Last Post: 11-30-2014, 01:59 PM
  2. Time Machine file deletion: Error code -8003
    By Opium in forum OS X - Operating System
    Replies: 9
    Last Post: 11-15-2012, 03:13 AM
  3. accessing Time Machine backups from a previous computer
    By blindsey in forum OS X - Operating System
    Replies: 1
    Last Post: 09-14-2010, 02:59 PM
  4. Time Machine and File Deletion
    By gatrball in forum OS X - Operating System
    Replies: 2
    Last Post: 10-07-2009, 04:30 AM
  5. Accessing Previous Time Machine Archives
    By tmaclean in forum OS X - Operating System
    Replies: 1
    Last Post: 02-15-2008, 10:12 AM

Posting Permissions

  • You may not post new threads
  • You may not post replies
  • You may not post attachments
  • You may not edit your posts