Mac Forums

Mac Forums (http://www.mac-forums.com/forums/)
-   OS X - Apps and Games (http://www.mac-forums.com/forums/os-x-apps-games/)
-   -   World time zone manager (http://www.mac-forums.com/forums/os-x-apps-games/176457-world-time-zone-manager.html)

fncos 11-17-2009 09:06 AM

World time zone manager
 
Hi,


for my macbook I am using firefox browser, and seeking an addon as a world time zone manager or a website I can direct link to.

I need to see at an instant for 6 locations the time, date on a 24 hr style, maybe with a map, distances measured distances. Any other useful infos, could make the addon/website even more useful for my needs.

I have checked many related topics/addons on this. But most, appear to have spy software/ad pop-ups etc. I am seeking one that is secure, and stable to use.


Thanks.

nabl 11-17-2009 03:15 PM

I'm not quite sure that I understand what you're asking, but have you considered the World Clock widget in Dashboard? It seems like it would work perfectly for you; you can drag on as many as you want, set them for any time zone or city, and access them with one key press.

Edit: I forgot that you wanted a 24-hour clock; if you simply can't work without it, perhaps you could find a similar, even more suitable widget on Apple's download page. In fact, the featured widget of the day is a world clock!

rogerinlondon 11-17-2009 03:27 PM

Have you checked out the Firefox FoxClocks extension?

growlgrowl 11-17-2009 05:51 PM

I've just installed the featured widget mentioned above and I find it too cluttered and also all the clocks I chose were an hour out!! Buenos Aires, Edinburgh, Sydney and Paris!!!!!

fncos 11-18-2009 06:33 AM

Hey Nabl,


thank you for the link.

It was something on the line, that I was looking for. I wished it had more functionality to make it even more useful to meet my needs.

I just couldnt figure out, why I cant keep it on the dashboard as long I want it. After moving on around the screen, it keeps disappearing only to reappear again through the dashboard window!

fncos 11-18-2009 06:37 AM

Hi rogerinlondon/growlgrowl,


as for foxclock to solve the issue that you are facing you need most likely to adjust your system time to your clock time!

This one has many functionalities that I could need, but I cant locate some city names!

How were you able to delete it, I cant delete mine?

nabl 11-19-2009 12:55 AM

Quote:

Originally Posted by fncos (Post 945789)
Hey Nabl,


thank you for the link.

It was something on the line, that I was looking for. I wished it had more functionality to make it even more useful to meet my needs.

I just couldnt figure out, why I cant keep it on the dashboard as long I want it. After moving on around the screen, it keeps disappearing only to reappear again through the dashboard window!

I believe you're referring to the nature of Dashboard; it's only there when you need it. However, if you would like the widget to always stay on top, there is a way to keep it present persistently. Just follow these instructions. Alternatively, here's a video I made that will show you step by step what to do (following the same instructions, just played out).

fncos 11-19-2009 05:53 AM

Time-zone manager
 
Hi,


thank you for the useful inside.

However, I got a message that I have a limited time left, and have to purchase it afterward the limited time is over.

As I indicated before, especially if I have to pay for it, I will want something to meet my needs through its functionality and features.

This addon has only, limited features that are useful to me!


Thanks again.

RickPrather 11-19-2009 01:26 PM

Quote:

Originally Posted by nabl (Post 946433)
I believe you're referring to the nature of Dashboard; it's only there when you need it. However, if you would like the widget to always stay on top, there is a way to keep it present persistently. Just follow these instructions.

Good link and video too.

FWIW, for those that are Terminal Averse there is a check box in Onyx that allows you to enable the Dashboard Devmode.

Collin Bl 11-19-2009 02:53 PM

i went for AION so i could personalise Menubar dropdown and have this;

http://img.skitch.com/20091119-irc8u...gi.preview.jpg
Click for full size

krzysp.net - AION - downlaod

NB Time Calculator does not work in Leopard or Snow Leopard but rest does.

fncos 11-20-2009 04:30 AM

Quote:

Originally Posted by Collin Bl (Post 946798)
i went for AION so i could personalise Menubar dropdown and have this;

http://img.skitch.com/20091119-irc8u...gi.preview.jpg
Click for full size

krzysp.net - AION - downlaod

NB Time Calculator does not work in Leopard or Snow Leopard but rest does.

Hi,


thank you for the link.
But your link doesnt work, could you pls give me the proper name of this. So that, I can locate it easier on reliable download portals.

Thanks

bobtomay 11-20-2009 08:05 AM

The link is working fine. Perhaps the site was down when you tried it. Or try the main page - krzysp.net

fncos 12-08-2009 09:24 AM

Hi,


I have tried already few times to access that link, but the page would not open; in fact its a blank page!

Anyone, accessed that link for the world time manager?


All times are GMT -4. The time now is 01:34 PM.

Powered by vBulletin
Copyright ©2000 - 2014, Jelsoft Enterprises Ltd.