New To Mac-Forums?

Welcome to our community! Join the discussion today by registering your FREE account. If you have any problems with the registration process, please contact us!

Get your questions answered by community gurus Advice and insight from world-class Apple enthusiasts Exclusive access to members-only contests, giveaways and deals

Join today!

 
Start a Discussion
 

Mac-Forums Brief

Subscribe to Mac-Forums Brief to receive special offers from Mac-Forums partners and sponsors

Join the conversation RSS
OS X - Apps and Games Discussion of applications and games available for Mac OS X.

Unofficial Macbook Pro Gaming Thread - Late 2008 models


Post Reply New Thread Subscribe

 
Thread Tools
johnrs

 
Member Since: Nov 01, 2008
Location: Nottingham - UK
Posts: 19
johnrs is on a distinguished road

johnrs is offline
Hi

This is carrying on the awesome work that CodeSamurai has done on game testing for the new Macbooks, but this thread will be for the new Macbook Pro's

Saturday 15th I picked up my MBP 2.4 I have installed Vista and SP1 onto a 60gig partition

WOW - With settings mainly at medium and with showdows, death effects off I was getting anything from 65fps to almost 80fps. So then i put effects on and detail up and this more than halfed the fps. I was getting anything from 23fps to 40fps.

One odd thing I noticed was that about every 30sec it would go into slow motion for a sec. odd.. I am going to play with the setting again today and see what happens.

Going to have a play on Fallout 3 later today.

Have also ran 3dMark05 Free Edition and my score is 10511
QUOTE Thanks
johnrs

 
Member Since: Nov 01, 2008
Location: Nottingham - UK
Posts: 19
johnrs is on a distinguished road

johnrs is offline
Had a play of Fallout 3 last night.

The game detected my setting as High so I left them on that to see how it would play and it played very well.. No lag, but speech did break up a few times when speaking with people

I have attached a screen shot of the setting I have been using. Not sure how to show FPS within Fallout 3

If anyone can let me know how to show FPS I will post what I am getting

Might have to get a copy of fraps too..
Attached Images
File Type: jpg fallout3 settings.jpg (59.8 KB, 19 views)
QUOTE Thanks
B&O

 
B&O's Avatar
 
Member Since: May 18, 2007
Location: Brit in Tokyo.
Posts: 745
B&O has a spectacular aura about
Mac Specs: MBP i7, Mac Mini & iPhone 3G.

B&O is offline
I have the 2.53Ghz with 512 card on XP. Call of Duty World at war plays on full specs and so does Battlefield 2142. Crysis plays on full with no AA. I hope that helps. I will be testing more games.

MacBook Pro 2.66Ghz i7. Mac Mini 2.26Ghz C2D
iPhone 3G 16GB iPad 3G 64GB
Check out my flickr
QUOTE Thanks
johnrs

 
Member Since: Nov 01, 2008
Location: Nottingham - UK
Posts: 19
johnrs is on a distinguished road

johnrs is offline
I have played COD4 online for a little yesterday. Left all the setting alone and its played great. going to play with the settings tonight.

Nice to see that COD5 plays well. Think I might have to get a copy of that..

On the WOW front. I still have the problem of it going into slow motion for 1-2 sec every 30 secs when moving about.. I have played with setting but have had not luck...
QUOTE Thanks
BarracksBoy

 
Member Since: Dec 26, 2008
Posts: 4
BarracksBoy is on a distinguished road

BarracksBoy is offline
Good to see some good performance from these machines.

B&O: when you say crysis runs on full do you mean high or very high? and which resolution are you playing with?

When I get my MBP (sometime in the next few months hopefully), I will also post whatever performance I can get out of various games.

Oh and Can the MacBook Pro run DX10 games (that are actually playable without lag)?
QUOTE Thanks
ChrisNg

 
Member Since: Oct 26, 2008
Location: Demarest,NJ
Posts: 12
ChrisNg is on a distinguished road
Mac Specs: Macbook 2.0ghz, iMac 1.6ghz

ChrisNg is offline
How do MP games run when you play over Wifi?
QUOTE Thanks
damainman

 
Member Since: Nov 14, 2007
Posts: 135
damainman is on a distinguished road

damainman is offline
Very short thread, any other games to add to this list?
QUOTE Thanks
ghostsushi

 
ghostsushi's Avatar
 
Member Since: Aug 17, 2009
Posts: 20
ghostsushi is an unknown at this point
Mac Specs: 13" MBP: 500GB HD, 4GB RAM, 2.26GHz

ghostsushi is offline
way to revive a dead thrad
QUOTE Thanks

Post Reply New Thread Subscribe


« Hacker Evolution: Untold - Mac port is almost here | webcam not working with ichat? »
Thread Tools

Currently Active Users Viewing This Thread: 1 (0 members and 1 guests)
 
Posting Rules
You may not post new threads
You may not post replies
You may not post attachments
You may not edit your posts
BB code is On
Smilies are On
[IMG] code is On
HTML code is Off
Trackbacks are On
Pingbacks are On
Refbacks are Off
Forum Jump

Similar Threads
Thread
Thread Starter
Forum
Replies
Last Post
MacBook or MacBook Pro: Newbie needs help ? fld777 Apple Notebooks 11 12-15-2013 02:37 PM
Apple MacBook And MacBook Pro to get redesigned.. spookymulder Apple Rumors and Reports 226 06-17-2008 01:25 PM
Black MacBook or MacBook Pro supaflyz Apple Notebooks 6 06-12-2008 03:06 PM
MacBook pro maya 2008 bug? gauranga OS X - Apps and Games 1 01-17-2008 04:54 AM
The "Mod your MacBook" thread kaidomac Apple Notebooks 50 07-11-2006 08:49 PM

All times are GMT -4. The time now is 04:53 PM.

Powered by vBulletin
Copyright ©2000 - 2014, Jelsoft Enterprises Ltd.
X

Welcome to Mac-Forums.com

Create your username to jump into the discussion!

New members like you have made this community the ultimate source for your Mac since 2003!


(4 digit year)

Already a member?