New To Mac-Forums?

Welcome to our community! Join the discussion today by registering your FREE account. If you have any problems with the registration process, please contact us!

Get your questions answered by community gurus Advice and insight from world-class Apple enthusiasts Exclusive access to members-only contests, giveaways and deals

Join today!

Start a Discussion

Mac-Forums Brief

Subscribe to Mac-Forums Brief to receive special offers from Mac-Forums partners and sponsors

Join the conversation RSS
OS X - Apps and Games Discussion of applications and games available for Mac OS X.

Port problem, think Airport may have firewall?

Post Reply New Thread Subscribe

dorisbonkers

dorisbonkers is on a distinguished road
Mac Specs: Macbook 13 inch 2.16GHz Intel Core 2 Duo

Hello. I wonder if anyone has had a similar problem with ports and multiple routers/firewalls when gaming or using BT clients, such as Transmission.

Although I'm not a techie I have read multiple forums (including Transmission's) and built-in help regarding setting up static IP address and port forwarding. A debug test in Transmission when I toggle seems to show it's working ok. But the port still says 'closed' in Transmission Preferences.

I have a macbook connected to the Internet through Airport (that comes with the macbook, not Extreme) going to a Linksys wireless WRT54G router (which I've configured to have no firewall and forwarded ports as per Portforward.com's instructions) then a Motorola Surfboard modem into the wall.

Since sorting out port forwarding and tweaking dl/ul settings on Transmission my speeds have increased to around 40/40kbs from around 10-12kbs previously. But still nowhere near what I had when I had a PC.

In Transmission preferences my port is still showing as closed (but Tranmission still dl/ul but at only around 40/50bps at the fastest)

But on canyouseeme.org my port (50001-5) is ok.

According to the wiki files my ISP (Starhub in Singapore) isn't throttling.