New To Mac-Forums?

Welcome to our community! Join the discussion today by registering your FREE account. If you have any problems with the registration process, please contact us!

Get your questions answered by community gurus Advice and insight from world-class Apple enthusiasts Exclusive access to members-only contests, giveaways and deals

Join today!

Start a Discussion

Mac-Forums Brief

Subscribe to Mac-Forums Brief to receive special offers from Mac-Forums partners and sponsors

Join the conversation RSS
OS X - Apps and Games Discussion of applications and games available for Mac OS X.

Partitioning

Post Reply New Thread Subscribe

GB14

GB14 is on a distinguished road

I am new in Mac and I have a MacBook Pro for few months only.
Windows XP was installed by use BootCamp which is very easy to do, thanks for Apple!

However, Mac OS X cannot write NTFS partition. So I want to create 1 more partition for Data storage only so that both OS can fully access the data. When WinXP was installed, I adjusted the partition of OSX in Disk Utility, then Windows cannot boot up... also the deleted partition becomes empty and cannot be used... what's wrong?

Can anyone advise:
- BootCamp partition cannot move? except using the "pre-released" CampTune?
- iPartition or CampTune, which is better? or any other good software?
- should I use NTFS for Mac OSX instead?
- if 3rd partition is made, use FAT32?

Thanks a lot!
QUOTE Thanks
chscag

chscag has a reputation beyond reputechscag has a reputation beyond reputechscag has a reputation beyond reputechscag has a reputation beyond reputechscag has a reputation beyond reputechscag has a reputation beyond reputechscag has a reputation beyond reputechscag has a reputation beyond reputechscag has a reputation beyond reputechscag has a reputation beyond reputechscag has a reputation beyond repute
Mac Specs: 27" iMac i5, 3.2 GHz, iPad 3, iPhone 5c, 3 iPods, OS X Mavericks