New To Mac-Forums?

Welcome to our community! Join the discussion today by registering your FREE account. If you have any problems with the registration process, please contact us!

Get your questions answered by community gurus Advice and insight from world-class Apple enthusiasts Exclusive access to members-only contests, giveaways and deals

Join today!

Start a Discussion

Mac-Forums Brief

Subscribe to Mac-Forums Brief to receive special offers from Mac-Forums partners and sponsors

Join the conversation RSS
OS X - Apps and Games Discussion of applications and games available for Mac OS X.

Help with Safari Toolbar Please.

Post Reply New Thread Subscribe

JKim123123

JKim123123 is on a distinguished road

Hello all,

This is my first post, I am really new to all this so please bear with me.

Was fiddling around with safari today, I wanted to change the skin color so I downloaded a "safariunify.dmg" file. Ran the program but when I tried to run safari a black box appeared saying that I needed to restart my computer. I kind of panicked thinking I had downloaded a virus but figured it would be ok because the file was from MacUpdate.com.

So after the restart, safari would not open, so I uninstalled the "safariunify" app and opened it up again. It opened this time but now my safari has two toolbars and I can't seem to get rid of the second one. The first one is the standard toolbar but there is one below it that seems to be a custom toolbar that I didn't customize.

I have tried restarting, reseting, emptying cache and deleting my plist for safari but nothing seems to work. Also, when I try to open a new tab a blank white screen appears and safari freezes and shuts down.

I have included three screen shots.

The first one is safari with the two toolbars.

Now I am going to click on "hide toolbar".

After I hid the toolbar, the second one is still there. This is the one I can't and want to get rid of.

I am on a ibook G4 running 10.5.3.