Go Back  Mac-Forums.com  > Software > OS X - Applications and Games > virus? that keeps popping up

Reply
 
LinkBack Thread Tools
Old 08-12-2009, 03:08 PM   #1 (permalink)
destrilogy

 
Member Since: Oct 29, 2006
Posts: 11
destrilogy is an unknown at this point
Exclamation virus? that keeps popping up

I go on some websites and then there is a pop up that comes up. and its like some mac error. that shows. on the website. theres nothing wrong with my mac but the website says that there is. of course. this is receipe for a VIRUS.

but i have never seen this before its usually a windows error or something. So. Then it downloads a DMG that is called movie.dmg

but i dont know open it of course scared that its a virus i just delete it. anybody else seen this? just thought i would let you guys know to watch out for it. i copied the link of the page so you guys can see it.

hopefully. you let other people know.

http://ultimate****play.com/123/mac2...08/movie/play/

holla!
destrilogy is offline  
Digg this Post!Add Post to del.icio.usBookmark Post in TechnoratiFurl this Post!Stumble this post
Reply With Quote
Old 08-12-2009, 03:17 PM   #2 (permalink)
Kevriano

 
Kevriano's Avatar
 
Member Since: Jul 02, 2006
Location: Crawley, England
Posts: 1,363
Kevriano is a jewel in the roughKevriano is a jewel in the rough
Mac Specs: 20" Intel iMac 2.4 Ghz/1G Ram/320HD, Snow Leopard. PBook G4, 1.5Ghz/1.5 Ram/250 HD, Leopard 10.5.6.
Well, no viruses really exist for Macs, but the .dmg thing is new to me. The link doesn't work, but anyway, just trash it, and avoid that site!
__________________
Some people are like slinkies,
They don't have a purpose, but they still make you laugh when you push them down the stairs.

Kevriano is offline  
Digg this Post!Add Post to del.icio.usBookmark Post in TechnoratiFurl this Post!Stumble this post
Reply With Quote
Old 08-12-2009, 03:22 PM   #3 (permalink)
vansmith

 
vansmith's Avatar
 
Member Since: Oct 19, 2008
Location: Ottawa
Posts: 3,582
vansmith is a glorious beacon of lightvansmith is a glorious beacon of lightvansmith is a glorious beacon of lightvansmith is a glorious beacon of lightvansmith is a glorious beacon of lightvansmith is a glorious beacon of light
Mac Specs: 2.1C2D/4GB/320GB
It could be a trojan as many Mac trojans disguise themselves as media updates. It's a good thing that you deleted it and you should never open/run something that is downloaded without your permission.
__________________
"It is beyond a doubt that all our knowledge begins with experience." - Immanuel Kant
Website : Twitter
Important Links: Community Guidelines : DVD Ripping Rules
M-F MotM - April 2009.
vansmith is online now  
Digg this Post!Add Post to del.icio.usBookmark Post in TechnoratiFurl this Post!Stumble this post
Reply With Quote
Reply


Currently Active Users Viewing This Thread: 1 (0 members and 1 guests)
 
Thread Tools

Posting Rules
You may not post new threads
You may not post replies
You may not post attachments
You may not edit your posts

BB code is On
Smilies are On
[IMG] code is On
HTML code is Off
Trackbacks are On
Pingbacks are On
Refbacks are On

Forum Jump

Similar Threads
Thread Thread Starter Forum Replies Last Post
the big virus question... jpfritz OS X - Operating System 10 09-23-2009 11:02 AM
Mac 10.x hosting Windows Virus' mtyoung400 OS X - Applications and Games 2 05-26-2009 12:27 AM
"The virus that kills your computer!" Rumored Virus at my School. Dylanyouto Anything Goes 26 03-08-2009 09:44 AM
Virus in & formatting windows chriskwn Windows, Classic, Linux, and Other OS 0 02-11-2009 05:59 PM
Stupid Windows Virus Matt Anything Goes 15 08-02-2004 05:05 AM

 
 
 
     
Home Calendar Get New
     

Copyright ©2001-2009 Mac-Forums.com. All Rights Reserved. A division of iNET Interactive.

Other iNET Interactive Sites: Web Hosting Talk | Swish Talk | Hosting Catalog.com| Dev Papers| Deleted Domains| Hot Scripts

Powered by vBulletin
Copyright ©2000 - 2009, Jelsoft Enterprises Ltd.