New To Mac-Forums?

Welcome to our community! Join the discussion today by registering your FREE account. If you have any problems with the registration process, please contact us!

Get your questions answered by community gurus Advice and insight from world-class Apple enthusiasts Exclusive access to members-only contests, giveaways and deals

Join today!

Start a Discussion

Mac-Forums Brief

Subscribe to Mac-Forums Brief to receive special offers from Mac-Forums partners and sponsors

Join the conversation RSS
Music, Audio, and Podcasting Do you use your Mac to create music? This is the place for discussions on creating and editing music on the Mac!

Brand new user to Macs, professional musician

Post Reply New Thread Subscribe

apdamron

apdamron is on a distinguished road

Just got one, I'm totally new to platform and looking to implement it in with my bass playing and live performances. MIDI, DAW, synth, loops/live samples, etc... what programs, interfaces and whatnot should I be looking at to get started?

Another concern I have; It was a Christmas present and was the 13" MacbookPro, which I immediately noticed didn't have the audio in/out 1/8" jacks like the 15" Book does. Will this be a large obstacle to overcome, or will the Thunderbolt/USB/Firewire connections, is it really small potatoes? If necessary, I could use gift receipt and upgrade it myself but I wanted to get opinions first.