Page 1 of 2 12 LastLast

Which audio editing software do you recommend?
    Hi guys,

I've been researching which audio-editing software to buy for over a year now, and I still haven't found anything that's "just right" for my needs. Please help.

So here's what I need the software to do. I'm a pianist, and I play a REAL piano (not a keyboard). I make recordings of my piano compositions. The problem is, neither my piano nor my recording equipment are very good, so I'm looking for a software that will make the recordings sound more professional. Also (and this is very important), I need something that will allow me to edit mistakes and merge different takes.

For a while I thought Logic was my solution. But I bought a Logic handbook and found that Logic is geared more towards people who want to create midi or digital music. When I asked a Logic user if it was possible to edit a live performance with Logic, he said "yes, but it's difficult. Logic works best when you're working with digital music that has a consistent beat." (Much as I had suspected).

Is there anything on Mac that focuses especially on old-fashioned live recordings? ALSO: it would be great if the software were compatible with Audioease plug-ins.

Thanks SO much. (I'm off to bed now, but I'll read and reply to your responses tomorrow afternoon

Specs:
    Mac Pro: 2 x Quad Core Xeon 3.0, 8 Gb RAM, 4TB Storage, 8800 GT
    There is nothing that Logic cannot do. With the proper plugins (waves etc.) you will be able to edit your music very succesfully.

Specs:
    MacBook Pro Intel Core Duo, ProTools HD, Digi 192