Mac Forums

Mac Forums (http://www.mac-forums.com/forums/)
-   Music, Audio, and Podcasting (http://www.mac-forums.com/forums/music-audio-podcasting/)
-   -   Logic Express or Logic Studio? (http://www.mac-forums.com/forums/music-audio-podcasting/146737-logic-express-logic-studio.html)

LiddleBuddha 03-27-2009 12:09 PM

Logic Express or Logic Studio?
 
Hello All,

I'm going to order an iMac within the next couple days, (for dedicated audio). As some of you might've already seen, I'm a noob, and I'll just be a home hobbyist.

Question is:
Do I get Logic Studio, or just Logic Express and maybe upgrade later?

I can't decide. I'll leave it in your hands. ;D :Cool:

Thanks!
- D

Bob.Geissler 03-28-2009 10:20 PM

Logic Express has more entry level features and simplicity, so I'd recommend that as a starter. Go through the tutorials or however you plan to train and THEN decide whether or not to upgrade.
Bob

LiddleBuddha 03-30-2009 11:23 AM

Quote:

Originally Posted by Bob.Geissler (Post 825362)
Logic Express has more entry level features and simplicity, so I'd recommend that as a starter. Go through the tutorials or however you plan to train and THEN decide whether or not to upgrade.
Bob

Hello Bob,

Thanks very much for your reply! I actually did decide to just go with Logic Express preinstalled for now, (ordered a 24" iMac over the weekend. Woo-hoo!).. I figured I could indeed upgrade later.

Looking forward to firing this bad boy up and kicking some jams!

Best,
- d

jcmoore2 04-03-2009 12:42 AM

Does logic express have any of the live performance feature like studio? I play in a band and would like to start experimenting with loops. I know studio has the main stage feature but does express have anything similar?

LiddleBuddha 04-03-2009 03:23 PM

Quote:

Originally Posted by jcmoore2 (Post 827729)
Does logic express have any of the live performance feature like studio? I play in a band and would like to start experimenting with loops. I know studio has the main stage feature but does express have anything similar?

Hey jcmoore2,

Unfortunately, I don't know the answer to your question (I'll know by next week though).

Hopefully someone here will know the answer. But I'll poke around in the meantime and see if I can find out for you.

You may have some luck by checking out SFLogicNinja's youtube Logic tutorial channel...

YouTube - SFLogicNinja's Channel

Peace,
- d

jcmoore2 04-06-2009 02:24 PM

Thanks man.

ErikJenkins1187 04-06-2009 08:15 PM

No, Mainstage only comes with Studio, if you need to drive a lot of midi instruments and midi patches for guitars, it's the way to go!

Maccy 04-08-2009 03:47 PM

Logic Studio is ridiculously cheap when purchased with an education discount (in the UK anyway, not sure how it works out in the US) so I'd never bother with Express.


All times are GMT -4. The time now is 12:47 PM.

Powered by vBulletin
Copyright ©2000 - 2014, Jelsoft Enterprises Ltd.