New To Mac-Forums?

Welcome to our community! Join the discussion today by registering your FREE account. If you have any problems with the registration process, please contact us!

Get your questions answered by community gurus Advice and insight from world-class Apple enthusiasts Exclusive access to members-only contests, giveaways and deals

Join today!

Start a Discussion

Mac-Forums Brief

Subscribe to Mac-Forums Brief to receive special offers from Mac-Forums partners and sponsors

Join the conversation RSS
Music, Audio, and Podcasting Do you use your Mac to create music? This is the place for discussions on creating and editing music on the Mac!

External Mic in GB

Post Reply New Thread Subscribe

uptempo

uptempo is on a distinguished road

Hi. GarageBand/Mac newbie here. I've got a new Macbook and a Personus FP10. I can play a software instrument track using my MIDI keyboard via the FP10 audio interface. Good stuff. But when I create a real instrument track to record from a microphone plugged into the audio interface, the Track Info pane only shows the built-in mic. It doesn't pick up anything from the FP10 in a real instrument track.

In MIDI Audio Settings, the Personus FP10 is there, though the volume control and checkboxes for channel 1 (where the mic is) are disabled.

Any ideas on how I can get a microphone - and other real instruments - recognized in GB would be greatly appreciated!

Thanks in advance,
Michael
QUOTE Thanks
mcjacksonnelson

mcjacksonnelson has a spectacular aura about
Mac Specs: 2.53 Intel Core Duo Mac Mini; 4g RAM; 350g HD, OS 10.6.3

only thing i can think of is to make sure your "monitor is ON". (see attachment) the default when making a new real instrument track is for the monitor to be off. i guess this presents you from blowing your monitors with feedback by accident. i still catch myself forgetting to make sure this is on. hope this helps.
Attached Images
File Type: gif Picture-2.gif (40.9 KB, 4 views)