New To Mac-Forums?

Welcome to our community! Join the discussion today by registering your FREE account. If you have any problems with the registration process, please contact us!

Get your questions answered by community gurus Advice and insight from world-class Apple enthusiasts Exclusive access to members-only contests, giveaways and deals

Join today!

Start a Discussion

Mac-Forums Brief

Subscribe to Mac-Forums Brief to receive special offers from Mac-Forums partners and sponsors

Join the conversation RSS
Movies and Video For people making movies and editing video with their Mac.

New to Mac and FCE

Post Reply New Thread Subscribe

ksv1

ksv1 is on a distinguished road

What's up guys,
I am brand new to the Mac and video editing world (Although I have worked with iMovie). I just bought a MacBook and Final Cut Express HD. I am now wondering if I should have gone with Final Cut Pro. I know there are some more options in FCP, but because I am new to video editing would it be better just to stick with Express? Is there a big difference between the editing options and learning curve between the two? I would eventually like to get into the advaced editing of Pro, but would the transition to Pro be easier if I work with Express first? I also heard rumors that my MacBook (2GB of ram) cannot handle FCP well.....is this true? Please just let me know what you think. Thanks!
QUOTE Thanks
killedbyinterne

killedbyinterne will become famous soon enough
Mac Specs: 15" MBP 2.4 GHz C2D 160 GB HDD 2 GB RAM

Since you are pretty much brand new to video editing FCE should suit your needs pretty well. As far as a learning curve, FCE works pretty much the same as FCP minus some features. The big difference is in the additional software that comes with the FCP Suite. Since you are new to video editing I don't think you'll need be needing pro apps like Color, Soundtrack Pro, etc. Those are new programs amongst themselves and require an even steeper learning curve.