New To Mac-Forums?

Welcome to our community! Join the discussion today by registering your FREE account. If you have any problems with the registration process, please contact us!

Get your questions answered by community gurus Advice and insight from world-class Apple enthusiasts Exclusive access to members-only contests, giveaways and deals

Join today!

Start a Discussion

Mac-Forums Brief

Subscribe to Mac-Forums Brief to receive special offers from Mac-Forums partners and sponsors

Join the conversation RSS
Movies and Video For people making movies and editing video with their Mac.

Mac Newbie Need Advice On Video Editing!

Post Reply New Thread Subscribe

OliE3333

OliE3333 is on a distinguished road

Hey im a video editor from the UK and a real mac newbie. I have used macs for editing before but was never aware of what specs of the systems i was using were. Now im looking to get myself an imac for video and movie production. Im on a pretty tight budget so im looking at getting one of the lower spec 17" imacs but am wondering which im gunna have to buy to get decent speeds and qualities. Is 512mb ram going to be decent? or am i better off buying the 1gb? another option is buying the lower spec and then adding in memory bought separetly, whats the general opinion on that?

i would very much appriciate any advice people could give me, however small, i really am stuck with this one and have to watch my money very carefully.....but am desperate to get my mac!

thanks in advance!
QUOTE Thanks
bmcgonag

bmcgonag will become famous soon enough
Mac Specs: 15" MBP 2.0 GHz, Core Duo, 2 GB Ram

I'd say at least 1 GB of memory. As far as the cpu speed, not much to worry about there, and then you'll want to consider HDD space. If you get a smaller drive internal, you will want a large external to save your movie projects and raw video on. They tend to take up a lot of space.

Brian
QUOTE Thanks
OliE3333