Thread: iMovie editing

iMovie editing
    I am just getting into iMovie and my first project is a mix of videos and still photographs. My first challenge is setting the time length of still photos. In the story board I hover over a given photo (this one shows a time of 9 sec) I click what looks like a gear then 'clip adjustments' then enter a number 7 and check 'Applies to all stills' then click done. Going back to the clip it still says 9 sec. 3 clips following that one all say 11 sec.

More info - I have set transitions between all clips as 4.0 sec, cross dissolve, and the overlap says 'All-maintain clip range' (not half - maintain project duration)..

I suspect the time set issue might be connected to the transition settings but cannot fined anything to help.

Thank you for any advice

poppi

Specs:
    27" iMac i7 (2011) 10.11, Mac Mini i5 (2014), iPhone6s, Apple Watch, iPad Pro 9.7, AppleTV (4)
    Which version of iMovie are you using?
    Not been around these parts for a while. Trying to change that . .

Please use the reputation system if you think you've been helped - bottom left of this post

Quote Originally Posted by mrplow View Post
    Which version of iMovie are you using?
    Sorry I should have covered that. I am at iMovie 11, v 9.0/4

poppi

Specs:
    27" iMac i7 (2011) 10.11, Mac Mini i5 (2014), iPhone6s, Apple Watch, iPad Pro 9.7, AppleTV (4)
    I think it's the transitions that need more time than you're trying to give them. As a test try adding a couple of stills at the end with no transition and set the durations.
    Not been around these parts for a while. Trying to change that . .

Please use the reputation system if you think you've been helped - bottom left of this post

iMovie editing
    Quote Originally Posted by mrplow View Post
    I think it's the transitions that need more time than you're trying to give them. As a test try adding a couple of stills at the end with no transition and set the durations.