New To Mac-Forums?

Welcome to our community! Join the discussion today by registering your FREE account. If you have any problems with the registration process, please contact us!

Get your questions answered by community gurus Advice and insight from world-class Apple enthusiasts Exclusive access to members-only contests, giveaways and deals

Join today!

Start a Discussion

Mac-Forums Brief

Subscribe to Mac-Forums Brief to receive special offers from Mac-Forums partners and sponsors

Join the conversation RSS
Movies and Video For people making movies and editing video with their Mac.

Importing DVD to iMovie

Post Reply New Thread Subscribe

poppi

poppi is on a distinguished road

I am completely new to iMovie so forgive me if this is a completely stupid question.

Many years ago I had 8 mm home movies transferred to VHS tape. A few years back a friend transferred the tapes to DVD. I am wondering if there is any way to get those "movies" from the DVD into iMovie. All Ican tell you about the DVD is the "format" is listed as Universal Disc Format (UDF). I am working with iMovie 9.0.4.

Help will be very appreciated

poppi
QUOTE Thanks
MightyGem

MightyGem is a jewel in the roughMightyGem is a jewel in the roughMightyGem is a jewel in the rough
Mac Specs: PPC Mini, 10.4.11. Intel Mini, 10.6.8. White MacBook, 10.8.5. iPhone 3GS.

If the dvd is one that you can play in a dvd player, then use Handbrake which will give you a movie file which you can then import into iMovie.
HandBrake
QUOTE Thanks
poppi

poppi is on a distinguished road

Quote:
Originally Posted by MightyGem View Post
If the dvd is one that you can play in a dvd player, then use Handbrake which will give you a movie file which you can then import into iMovie.
HandBrake