Thread: Burning to DVD

Burning to DVD
    Hi there,
    Im new to a Mac and have just made a movie in iMovie. I have got Roxio toast also and have tried to burn the movie to DVD (I know its not the done thing anymore, but tell that to my parents!). The movie burns but when it is played on a dvd player it seems the side of the movie is missing. It looks like the movie is just too big for the tV. I hope I am explaining my self properly. You can definitely see the problem if there is text in the movie and half the writing from either end is missing.

Any suggestions??

Specs:
    15" MBP, Core i7/2GHz, 8GB RAM, 480GB Crucial M500 SSD
    Have you experimented with display settings on the TV? Could it be that the video was formatted for a 16:10 or 16:9 display, and your parents are using a standard NTSC set.

I ask this because I know my parents often get disgruntled with letterbox view, so they play around with the zoom settings on TV/DVD player. That might be part of the problem... just a thought.
    Liquid and computers don't mix. It might seem simple, but we see an incredible amount of people post here about spills. Keep drinks and other liquids away from your expensive electronics!

https://youtu.be/KHZ8ek-6ccc

Quote Originally Posted by cwa107 View Post
    Have you experimented with display settings on the TV? Could it be that the video was formatted for a 16:10 or 16:9 display, and your parents are using a standard NTSC set.

I ask this because I know my parents often get disgruntled with letterbox view, so they play around with the zoom settings on TV/DVD player. That might be part of the problem... just a thought.
    I am in Australia and our system is PAL. There is an option to make sure it is burnt in the PAL format. So I am defiantly doing that. I dont recall it happening when I used windows.

Quote Originally Posted by cwa107 View Post