Mac Forums

Mac Forums (http://www.mac-forums.com/forums/)
-   Movies and Video (http://www.mac-forums.com/forums/movies-video/)
-   -   iMovie problem (http://www.mac-forums.com/forums/movies-video/231619-imovie-problem.html)

MontanaMac 03-08-2011 12:30 AM

iMovie problem
 
I made a 30 minute movie in iMove using video from a GoPro camera. The resolution is 960p. When I went to finalize the 30 minute movie, it says it's 1080p, and it says it will take 9 hours. What's wrong with this picture? That's the kind of speed we got with the pre-historic 486 megabyte PCs. Anyone here proficient on the iMove?

chscag 03-08-2011 01:30 AM

Moved and title edited for clarity.

Oneironaut 03-08-2011 12:46 PM

The estimated time for encoding videos isn't always accurate. It depends on how many other tasks your processor is trying to do at any given time. That said, even with Final Cut Pro and Compressor, it's never been estimated to take 9 hours to encode a thirty minute video. Maybe someone else can help, but maybe you should just go ahead and let it encode. I'm sure it won't take as long as it says.

codda 03-08-2011 03:40 PM

Is the file straight out of the camera? ( 960P )...960P...that's a very odd resolution...are you rendering at 960P? Try 1080 or 720.

MontanaMac 03-08-2011 11:01 PM

Rendering? I loaded the video from my GoPro 960 onto my HD, then imported it into iMovie. It is 960 resolution. I did the "finalize" on it last night, then when I went to publish it this morning it was very unfriendly, no prompts to publish except to You Tube or the net, or to DVD. The movie is in the tray at the bottom, but I can't seem to do anything with it except play it in iMove. I get this message. What the heck is the user parameter list? I wonder why iMovie can't just simply make the movie without all the hassles.
http://img215.imageshack.us/img215/5...10308at752.png

MontanaMac 03-11-2011 12:26 AM

Has anyone got any ideas why I can't publish this video? I can't figure out what this message means.

MightyGem 03-11-2011 05:43 AM

Where do you want to publish it to?

codda 03-11-2011 08:41 AM

If the movie is finished...go to share dropdown click on export movie ( or it's equivilant...I'm not at my Mac now...) Then let the movie be exported as a .mov to your desktop. Once it's made upload it anywhere you want.

MontanaMac 03-11-2011 10:43 AM

I want to publish it to my HD, but cannot find an option to do that. I tried publishing it to You Tube, but that didn't work either.

RavingMac 03-11-2011 10:49 AM

I highly recommend this.

Amazon.com: iMovie '09 & iDVD: The Missing Manual (9780596801410): David Pogue, Aaron Miller: Books

iMovie works very well, but I have NEVER found it to be particularly intuitive (maybe my brain is wired differently than the programmers).

codda 03-11-2011 11:32 AM

Don't "publish" the movie. Export the movie. Once you have exported it...it's an .mov file...done.. finished...ready for whatever you want. You can then upload the thing anywhere...but you'll likely run into file size restrictions with a 30 min. movie. iMovie is very intuitiuve...just follow some simple advice here...

MontanaMac 03-11-2011 05:14 PM

I did try to export the movie several times,but it just kept coming back with excuses why it could't....all in jibberish I couldn't understand.

MightyGem 03-12-2011 06:00 PM

Quote:

all in jibberish I couldn't understand
Such as? The Export option is pretty simple. How were you trying to do it, and to which format?

MontanaMac 03-12-2011 06:43 PM

Error in user parameter list was the message. I was trying to export it as .mov file in 720 resolution to YouTube. It seems to get to 16% and stops every time.

PS Sorry if I sounded disgruntled, but I just got really frustrated and need to realize I'm not going to learn it all in a month.

I did export a short video to YouTube this morning, but I had to do it by exporting with the Quicktime feature and it took the quality all the way down to 480 and it still took an hour to upload a 2 minuter video. Here's the link to it.
YouTube - Montana ATV Tracks Test HD Video

MontanaMac 03-13-2011 12:47 AM

I finally got a movie to export to a DVD RW disc, but it only plays in the iMac, not on a DVD player on my TV.
I tried using iDisc to put it on a DVD, but when I put in my blank disc it says "Please insert a recordable dvd" I don't understand why it won't record on a new DVD +R I guess I'll have to buy -R and try it. Am I even in the right place here on the screen shot?

http://img4.imageshack.us/img4/3043/...10313at105.png


All times are GMT -4. The time now is 11:19 PM.

Powered by vBulletin
Copyright ©2000 - 2014, Jelsoft Enterprises Ltd.