Mac Forums

Mac Forums (http://www.mac-forums.com/forums/)
-   Movies and Video (http://www.mac-forums.com/forums/movies-video/)
-   -   Creating Clusters for Compressor (http://www.mac-forums.com/forums/movies-video/222455-creating-clusters-compressor.html)

JTPFifth 12-06-2010 10:32 AM

Creating Clusters for Compressor
 
Hi everyone

I currently have 2 Mac Pros set up for editing purposes and I have 2 older Macs (both Power PC) just sitting in my office. I was wondering if I could use these older Macs for compressions and rendering. I've already clustered the two Mac Pros together for faster compression times, just wondering if I can add the older Macs to the cluster.

Bill Pitts 12-23-2011 10:04 PM

Hi,
I was searching the Forum for information on clustering Macs and came across your question. I can't answer yours but thought you might be able to give me a simple answer so I'd know whether or not to pursue my query further.

I am a freelance graphic designer using OSX on a Macintosh G4 that I bought in 2001. In my work, I use Adobe InDesign, Photoshop, Illustrator, and Macromedia Dreamweaver. I haven't been able to afford an upgrade and started wondering about clustering two identical computers when my brother-in-law gave me his G4 that he also purchased in 2001.*

I haven't hooked up his G4 to turn it on yet so I don't know what its processor speed is, but mine is 450 MHz with 1.25 GB SDRAM. I'm assuming that his might be of the same speed but with less RAM.

They both have two Firewire ports and share the same Macintosh Family Number M5183 if this matters.

My question is, considering*what I do on my Mac, would there be any benefit to my clustering (or attempting to cluster) these two G4s for my Desktop Publishing (DTP)?

Thanks,
Bill


All times are GMT -4. The time now is 11:29 AM.

Powered by vBulletin
Copyright ©2000 - 2014, Jelsoft Enterprises Ltd.