New To Mac-Forums?

Welcome to our community! Join the discussion today by registering your FREE account. If you have any problems with the registration process, please contact us!

Get your questions answered by community gurus Advice and insight from world-class Apple enthusiasts Exclusive access to members-only contests, giveaways and deals

Join today!

Start a Discussion

Mac-Forums Brief

Subscribe to Mac-Forums Brief to receive special offers from Mac-Forums partners and sponsors

Join the conversation RSS
Movies and Video For people making movies and editing video with their Mac.

Unable to drag iMovie events into Project

Post Reply New Thread Subscribe

docbombay

docbombay is on a distinguished road
Mac Specs: 21.5" iMac, Snow Leopard, 1TB HD, 8GB, 3.06 GHz

I am very new to Mac, and am trying iMovie for the first time. I have a Sony DCR-TRV18 miniDV camcorder, and have successfully imported a little over two hours of miniDV tapes into iMovie, and they show up as events. However, when I try to drag any event into the project area (after creating a new project), it is not retained. My particular events were organized by year, with individual day events contained within the "year" event. i have tried moving single days, or the year, and nothing is successful--in fact, I cannot even drag the event at all when the "year" is selected. I should also point out that I do not need or want to edit individual clips--I just want to get all the events in chronological order into projects, and then to copy onto DVDs. I have consulted iMovie help to no avail--can anyone help me? Thank you.

docbombay

"Everything should be made as simple as possible--but not simpler." -- Albert Einstein
QUOTE Thanks
xstep

xstep is a name known to allxstep is a name known to allxstep is a name known to allxstep is a name known to allxstep is a name known to allxstep is a name known to allxstep is a name known to all