New To Mac-Forums?

Welcome to our community! Join the discussion today by registering your FREE account. If you have any problems with the registration process, please contact us!

Get your questions answered by community gurus Advice and insight from world-class Apple enthusiasts Exclusive access to members-only contests, giveaways and deals

Join today!

Start a Discussion

Mac-Forums Brief

Subscribe to Mac-Forums Brief to receive special offers from Mac-Forums partners and sponsors

Join the conversation RSS
Movies and Video For people making movies and editing video with their Mac.

DCR-TRV530 problems with IMAC

Post Reply New Thread Subscribe

erpeden

erpeden is on a distinguished road
Mac Specs: IMAC 27" IPhone 4 IPad 2

I am new to the mac world and just purchased the 9pin to 4pin cable today so that I could download my movies from my camera to imovie but this thing will not find the camera. I have tried multiple things like putting the mac to sleep and checking the connections, turning the camera to vcr mode and then starting the mac back up still no luck anyone help??
QUOTE Thanks
Nethfel

Nethfel is a glorious beacon of lightNethfel is a glorious beacon of lightNethfel is a glorious beacon of lightNethfel is a glorious beacon of lightNethfel is a glorious beacon of lightNethfel is a glorious beacon of light
Mac Specs: Late 2013 rMBP, i7, 750m gpu, OSX versions 10.9.3, 10.10

What "thing" won't find the camera? The Mac or iMovie? One major difference between Mac and Windows is that on a Mac, it won't necessarily notify you when you plug a piece of equipment unless it needs to for some reason. It won't notify you of the camera being connected, but if it's a supported camera, iMovie should recognize it when you try to import footage...

I should note that I'm not guaranteeing it will work - there have been some people that have had problems with their camcorders on firewire with 10.6.x