New To Mac-Forums?

Welcome to our community! Join the discussion today by registering your FREE account. If you have any problems with the registration process, please contact us!

Get your questions answered by community gurus Advice and insight from world-class Apple enthusiasts Exclusive access to members-only contests, giveaways and deals

Join today!

Start a Discussion

Mac-Forums Brief

Subscribe to Mac-Forums Brief to receive special offers from Mac-Forums partners and sponsors

Join the conversation RSS
Movies and Video For people making movies and editing video with their Mac.

Reducing the length of some footage and uploading to You Tube

Post Reply New Thread Subscribe

donmaico

donmaico is on a distinguished road

hi a i am a newbie here and was wondering if some one could advise me how i can dramatically reduce the length of a movie i made whilst still hanging on to the unneeded clips? The footage is an hour long and despite the fact i shortened it to 5 mins by putting all the clips i didnt want back on the pane, I cant upload it to youtube which constantly rejects it for being too long.It claims its over an hour long when it isnt????Thats after I compressed in to Quicktime using various formats/codecs.,Even the basic one gets turned away
Someone suggested i drag the Quicktime footage back inot another iMovie project and start again but I movie rejected that,Thanks
QUOTE Thanks
xstep

xstep is a name known to allxstep is a name known to allxstep is a name known to allxstep is a name known to allxstep is a name known to allxstep is a name known to allxstep is a name known to all
Mac Specs: 2011 MBP, i7, 16GB RAM, MBP 2.16Ghz Core Duo, 2GB ram, Dual 867Mhz MDD, 1.75GB ram, ATI 9800 Pro vid

What version of iMovie?

It sounds like you have exported the movie as a QuickTime file. Open it in QuickTime and do a Command-I (show info) on the file. How long does it say it is? How large is the file?