New To Mac-Forums?

Welcome to our community! Join the discussion today by registering your FREE account. If you have any problems with the registration process, please contact us!

Get your questions answered by community gurus Advice and insight from world-class Apple enthusiasts Exclusive access to members-only contests, giveaways and deals

Join today!

Start a Discussion

Mac-Forums Brief

Subscribe to Mac-Forums Brief to receive special offers from Mac-Forums partners and sponsors

Join the conversation RSS
Movies and Video For people making movies and editing video with their Mac.

convert .exec to movie format

Post Reply New Thread Subscribe

brunoschull

brunoschull is on a distinguished road

Hi,

I am a biology teacher, and back when I had a windows machine (ughh), I had a student create some animations clips about genetics themes. When I transffered all my files to my new Mac (yey!) the animation clips appeared only as blank, gray icons with "exec" written on them.

In fact, the exec files play with Quicktime so the animation data is preserved in the format somehow.

I know I could just always play them with Quicktime, but I would like to comvert the blank, gray exec files into something more friendly, compatible and durable, with an icon that shows part of the animation, for example. Perhaps an iMovie file of some kind?

I really don't know much about animation, video and movie comversion, so your help is appreciated.

I have a Macbook running OS X 10.5.7

Thanks!
QUOTE Thanks
scathe

scathe is a jewel in the roughscathe is a jewel in the rough
Mac Specs: 2,4Ghz 15" unibody

it would help if you could find out what the original file format was so you can find an appropriate convertor between formats
QUOTE Thanks
joeyboots

joeyboots is an unknown at this point
Mac Specs: Macbook 13" 2.13GHz - Intel Core 2 Duo 2GB DDR2 Memory - 160GB HD - NVIDIA GeForce 9400M

Hmm.