New To Mac-Forums?

Welcome to our community! Join the discussion today by registering your FREE account. If you have any problems with the registration process, please contact us!

Get your questions answered by community gurus Advice and insight from world-class Apple enthusiasts Exclusive access to members-only contests, giveaways and deals

Join today!

Start a Discussion

Mac-Forums Brief

Subscribe to Mac-Forums Brief to receive special offers from Mac-Forums partners and sponsors

Join the conversation RSS
iPod Hardware and Accessories All iPod hardware discussions.

iPod Nano synching on two different Macs

Post Reply New Thread Subscribe

MacHeadCase

Hi ya guys! Just want to check with you before I suggest sumpthin' stoopid to a friend. I have no experience with synching an iPod on two different Macs. Not only that but I am used to synching with a .Mac account and songs that were bought from the iTMS.

A friend of mine bought for his gf an iPod Nano and he doesn't have a .Mac account and all the tunes are supposed to be transfered from CDs that the gf already owns or vinyls sent to the Mac and sent then to the iPod Nano.

I know that with a .Mac account, with songs bought from the iTMS, you can allow up to 5 computers to use the tunes. What happens with ordinary songs coming from CDs and vinyls?

What I am trying to get at is this: he wants to partially transfer the songs from his work place and from his home so he can get the collection uploaded to the iPod faster and save time (birthday is coming up). He started uploading songs from work but when he got home to go on uploading another stack of tunes, the only choice he had in iTunes was to delete the contents of the iPod and start over.

Can he synch from two different Macs (the one at home and the one at work) without having to delete the iPod's contents each time? Or would a workaround be that he has on both Macs the same iTunes content on both machines?