Mac Forums

Mac Forums (http://www.mac-forums.com/forums/)
-   iPod Hardware and Accessories (http://www.mac-forums.com/forums/ipod-hardware-accessories/)
-   -   Trouble with ipod (http://www.mac-forums.com/forums/ipod-hardware-accessories/308516-trouble-ipod.html)

Flanker37 02-09-2014 05:18 AM

Trouble with ipod
 
My 160gb classic has performed flawless for the last year, its never been dropped. 2 weeks ago i was using mediamonkey & itunes simultaneously on my windows pc. I was going through the list of tracks on my ipod using itunes & looking for the stuff i had marked as 5 star, and marking my tracks up on my pc using mediamonkey.

I then tried to transfer some new tracks from mediamonkey to the ipod, not realising that itunes was still running. 2 pieces of software fighting over my ipod wasnt a good idea. tracks started to transfer at first, but then froze. i had to restart pc to gain access to ipod. windows said there was a problem with device, itunes said ipod was 0byte and needed restoring. however after restore, i am unable to transfer songs either with itunes or mediamonkey. About 20 tracks will transfer, then just freeze, and i will need to restart pc & do the whole thing all over again. ipod has been restore 4 times now.

there is nothing wrong with my music tracks because i synced the same playlist to my sony experia z1

chscag 02-09-2014 11:43 AM

How old is your iPod classic? The reason I ask is because the older model iPod classic uses a small hard drive which does not have a long life. It sounds like the drive in your classic is acting up. If it restored OK with iTunes and you have a playlist selected, it should have transferred everything from your playlist to the iPod.

You can attempt to change the hard drive yourself if it's bad. I'm not sure where you can buy a replacement but the instructions for taking the iPod apart and changing the hard drive can be found at iFixit: The free repair manual.

Flanker37 02-09-2014 11:47 AM

thanks for the reply, i only figured out 30 minutes ago, what i believe was wrong. When winamp is installed, it installs something called winamp agent. this sits in the notification area, and yet is something else that has access to the ipod. So once that was disabled, i had no problem transferring my music on

chscag 02-09-2014 12:15 PM

It's been so long since I used Winamp, I forget that it even exists. :) I'm not in Windows often enough to keep up with it. Anyway, glad you figured it out. Be careful with that Classic and don't drop it or you'll be replacing the hard drive like I indicated above. ;)


All times are GMT -4. The time now is 05:42 AM.

Powered by vBulletin
Copyright ©2000 - 2014, Jelsoft Enterprises Ltd.