New To Mac-Forums?

Welcome to our community! Join the discussion today by registering your FREE account. If you have any problems with the registration process, please contact us!

Get your questions answered by community gurus Advice and insight from world-class Apple enthusiasts Exclusive access to members-only contests, giveaways and deals

Join today!

Start a Discussion

Mac-Forums Brief

Subscribe to Mac-Forums Brief to receive special offers from Mac-Forums partners and sponsors

Join the conversation RSS
iPod Hardware and Accessories All iPod hardware discussions.

Streaming Over Network

Post Reply New Thread Subscribe

Teh_Fonz

I'm brand new to Mac's and OS X and even iTunes.

i was wondering if there was anyway to stream a windows SMB share over a network with iTunes.

When i try it just copies the files over. even when i have my mp3 player (an iRiver) connected it copies the files into the iTunes folder.

i even tried Windows Media Player to no Avail.

any help would be very much appreciated

Thanks
QUOTE Thanks
trpnmonkey41

trpnmonkey41 is a splendid one to beholdtrpnmonkey41 is a splendid one to beholdtrpnmonkey41 is a splendid one to beholdtrpnmonkey41 is a splendid one to beholdtrpnmonkey41 is a splendid one to beholdtrpnmonkey41 is a splendid one to beholdtrpnmonkey41 is a splendid one to beholdtrpnmonkey41 is a splendid one to behold
Mac Specs: 20" iMac C2D 2.16ghz, 13" MacBook 2.0ghz, 60gb iPod vid, 1gb nano

if you have a network just turn on sharing in iTunes and make sure the mac is set to look for shared directories

Don't forget to use the new User Reputation System
QUOTE Thanks
Teh_Fonz

Look for Shared Folders is turned on in iTunes but still when I navigate in Finder to (or in iTunes to add to the library or import) it still copies the folder over.

If I could play over the network without copying the folder that would be so awesome and I would absolutely LOVE iTunes
QUOTE Thanks
Aptmunich