Mac Forums

Mac Forums (http://www.mac-forums.com/forums/)
-   iPad Hardware and Accessories (http://www.mac-forums.com/forums/ipad-hardware-accessories/)
-   -   1st Gen IOS question (http://www.mac-forums.com/forums/ipad-hardware-accessories/275530-1st-gen-ios-question.html)

Ned B 05-24-2012 02:50 PM

1st Gen IOS question

Hi folks,
I travel for a living, and am looking to get a used 1st gen iPad (64Gig with 3G) to carry with me. Will I be able to use the latest IOS and get iCloud or will I need to get at least an iPad2? (would love a new iPad, but that's not going to happen anytime soon) Budget says the used 1st gen, not if I can't use the latest IOS however.

Also, I'm not too worried about the 3G, I 'only' need connectivity at home or at hotels, not while I'm on the road or at work, but if the 3g Dongle comes included with it (presuming this is a verizon refurb/return unit), I'll keep the hot spot and just not turn it on.

pigoo3 05-24-2012 02:54 PM

Quote:

Originally Posted by Ned B (Post 1408174)
Hi folks,
I travel for a living, and am looking to get a used 1st gen iPad (64Gig with 3G) to carry with me. Will I be able to use the latest IOS and get iCloud or will I need to get at least an iPad2? (would love a new iPad, but that's not going to happen anytime soon) Budget says the used 1st gen, not if I can't use the latest IOS however.

From the online Apple Store:

- A 1st gen. iPad 64gig + 3G will cost you $549.
- A 2nd gen. iPad 32gig + 3G will cost you $529.

So unless you absolutely NEED 64gig of storage...I would go with the 32gig + 3G iPad2.

HTH,

- Nick

p.s. Of course if you're talking a used iPad (1st or 2nd gen.) from e-Bay or Craig's List...you may be able to save some $$$ versus the prices I listed above.

louishen 05-24-2012 02:54 PM

Looks like you are OK

iOS version history - Wikipedia, the free encyclopedia

edit, as pigoo says, consider the ipad 2

Ned B 05-24-2012 03:07 PM

Quote:

Originally Posted by pigoo3 (Post 1408175)