Question iPad vs. iPad 2: College student, which one is right for me?
    Hi,

I'm a grad student and I am looking into buying an iPad, but I can't decide which generation.

I plan on using it to take notes in class, open files, and browse the web. I may watch videos/movies every once in a while, but I plan on it being for educational purposes mostly. I won't run many apps.

So is the iPad 2 worth the price just for a faster processor? The camera doesn't really intrigue me, or the thinner body.

I have looked at the specs for both, and have looked at comparisons, but it's not really helping my decision.

Thanks for your input!

Specs:
    13" MBP 2.26 GHz Intel Core 2 Duo 4 GB 1067 MHz DDR3 RAM v10.7.2
    Either generation works really if you're looking for something to use in school. You could probably get a refurbished 1st gen. much cheaper than the 2nd gen. if money is an object.
     13" Macbook Pro (Late 2009, OS X Lion)
     32 GB iPod Touch (3rd gen)
     8 GB iPod Nano (blue, 3rd gen)

Specs:
    March 2011 15" MBP 2.3GHz i7 Quad Core 8GB Ram | Mid 2011 27" iMac 3.4 GHz i7 16 GB RAM 2 TB HDD
    If you haven't had an iPad 2 - then the iPad 1 will be just fine. I have the iPad 1 and never felt compelled to upgrade - but I will admit that the faster processor is definitely nice for certain applications.

Specs:
    1.8 GHz i7 MBA 11" OSX 10.8.2
    The iPad 2 is faster - but as Brian says, you won't notice unless you are running next to an iPad 1. (The iPad 1 is plenty fast for everything out there currently - although some of the new games are taking advantage of the iPad 2 hardware) For note taking and movie watching the iPad 1 would be fine.

Although the cameras aren't very good on the iPad 2 - consider you could use it for video chat, as well as taking pictures to add to class notes (or video too) - instead of having to take it on a separate device and load it on afterwards.