New To Mac-Forums?

Welcome to our community! Join the discussion today by registering your FREE account. If you have any problems with the registration process, please contact us!

Get your questions answered by community gurus Advice and insight from world-class Apple enthusiasts Exclusive access to members-only contests, giveaways and deals

Join today!

Start a Discussion

Mac-Forums Brief

Subscribe to Mac-Forums Brief to receive special offers from Mac-Forums partners and sponsors

Join the conversation RSS
iPad Hardware and Accessories Discuss the iPad hardware and accessories

iPad information - re: using Airport Express

Thread Closed

mercar

mercar is on a distinguished road

Hi,
I am new to this forum, aswell to having an iPad. It is amazing, but still learning.
Can the Airport Express be used as a WiFi for the iPad while traveling? If so,
does it have to be connected PC? As I said I am relatively new to the computer world and am trying to learn and understand.
At home we have a wireless router and it works very well.
Was reading about the Airport express router and was unclear as to wether I could take the iPad on a trip and use the Airport Ex. in place of a wireless router?
Slydude

Slydude has a brilliant futureSlydude has a brilliant futureSlydude has a brilliant futureSlydude has a brilliant futureSlydude has a brilliant futureSlydude has a brilliant futureSlydude has a brilliant futureSlydude has a brilliant futureSlydude has a brilliant futureSlydude has a brilliant futureSlydude has a brilliant future
Mac Specs: 2.8 GHz MacBook Pro 10.8,3 8 GB mem, 2.66 GHz Mac Pro - Dead, iPhone 4

That won't exactly work unless the Airport Express can get an Internet connection from somewhere. In other words much like your wireless router it has to be connected to some type of cable or DSL connection.