Mac Forums

Mac Forums (http://www.mac-forums.com/forums/)
-   iOS and Apps (http://www.mac-forums.com/forums/ios-apps/)
-   -   ios5 - new passcode issue (http://www.mac-forums.com/forums/ios-apps/253313-ios5-new-passcode-issue.html)

marting 10-13-2011 02:59 AM

ios5 - new passcode issue
 
Hi,

I downloaded ios5 last night - after a series of problems (internal issue errors etc) my phone went into meltdown. Tried repeatedly to restore it with itunes, succeeded on 5th attempt. All worked well, spent a happy hour playing with new operating system then went to sleep. When I woke this morning and switched on the phone it asked me for my passcode, but the screen had a full keypad, not just the numbers 1-0 as before. I tried typing in my apple id password, no joy, similarly my old numeric password fails. Any ideas??

speeden71 10-14-2011 02:05 PM

Same Problem with IPAD after IOS 5 upgrade
 
Did the whole upgrade this morning. No problems although it does take a while. Had to update Lion and iTunes before doing IOS devices. IPad worked fine when finished. Ran some errands this morning. Went to use my IPAD and now it presents a full keyboard for passcode entry and my old 4 digit passcode no longer works. What is going on? I tried to do a full reload from iTunes, but iTunes is telling me it can't because my iPad is locked out?!!!!!

speeden71 10-14-2011 04:36 PM

IOS 5 passcode problem
 
Finally was able to do a full restore. Turned off passcode. STill got prompted for an Exchange passcode ( was syncing work emails). I turned off the Exchange email account for work email. Not sure if that had anything to do with the original problem. Checked IOS 5 user manual for iPad and it still only referenced 4 digit passcode. Sot this full keyboard pass code problem is either a bug or maybe my Exchange request for passcode was superseding the IOS5 request for passcode. Will wait a few weeks and see if anyone else comments before turing iPad passcode back on.

roryrickard 10-14-2011 06:24 PM

I too had this problem and was locking myself out for increasing periods after upgrading/restoring my iPad. After you mentioned your exchange account, I tried my exchange account password. This worked. I guess it makes sense in that there's no point in having a high security alphanumeric if it can be accessed on the right device with a four digit code.

dbm 10-15-2011 04:36 AM

I built my new 4S based on my 3GS yesterday (using iTunes option to mirror an existing device when synching the phone for the first time). I had to manually re-enter my Email passwords - I think this is just a security feature.

My 4 digit lock works fine; I was prompted to define it as one of a few manual steps after the automatic build and synch (took about 8 hours!) had finished.

I've left my work iPhone 4 upgrading whilst I'm out of the house, and will be doing my iPad 1 later on so I'll see how well they go.


All times are GMT -4. The time now is 08:45 AM.

Powered by vBulletin
Copyright ©2000 - 2014, Jelsoft Enterprises Ltd.