New To Mac-Forums?

Welcome to our community! Join the discussion today by registering your FREE account. If you have any problems with the registration process, please contact us!

Get your questions answered by community gurus • Advice and insight from world-class Apple enthusiasts • Exclusive access to members-only contests, giveaways and deals

Join today!

Start a Discussion

Mac-Forums Brief

Subscribe to Mac-Forums Brief to receive special offers from Mac-Forums partners and sponsors

Join the conversation RSS
iOS and Apps All your questions and discussion of iOS or iOS Apps.

I have a mind boggling iPhone 3g sync problem

Post Reply New Thread Subscribe

sedouard

sedouard is on a distinguished road

I am very computer savvy. I am not a programmer but I can troubleshoot the best of PC problems. This problem however has me pulling my hair out! Please Help.
I have performed multiple tests trying to determine what the problem maybe. None of these tests has sparked and idea as to a solution for my problem.
Here is my problem: Approx 2 Weeks ago. I was in syncing heaven... everything worked perfectly. Then one day, my I phone would not sync with I Tunes. Here are the symptoms of my sync issues that I find weird. In I Tunes, I do not have "Automatically Sync when this phone is connected" checked as an option. So when I hook up the USB cable from my comp to my phone, nothing happens. I then proceed to press sync and the phone operates as normal as if it were going to sync. The message that appears in ITunes at first is "Syncing your I Phone". It then proceeds to backup my phone as usual. When the backup is finished, it then begins what looks like the syncing of my media, and then abruptly stops. No media will transfer from my computer (I Tunes) into my Iphone3G. That's messed up but here is the jacked up part. I thought that obviously something had to be wrong with my phone or perhaps I tunes... so I took the following steps in figuring out what my problem was.