New To Mac-Forums?

Welcome to our community! Join the discussion today by registering your FREE account. If you have any problems with the registration process, please contact us!

Get your questions answered by community gurus Advice and insight from world-class Apple enthusiasts Exclusive access to members-only contests, giveaways and deals

Join today!

Start a Discussion

Mac-Forums Brief

Subscribe to Mac-Forums Brief to receive special offers from Mac-Forums partners and sponsors

Join the conversation RSS
iOS and Apps All your questions and discussion of iOS or iOS Apps.

iPhone ringtones

Post Reply New Thread Subscribe

cantona

cantona is on a distinguished road

Hello
I'm new to iPhone/Pods so bare with me...

I've just got an iPhone and would like to use one of my MP3 songs in the iPod as a ring tone. How can I do this?

There is a 'Ringtones' menu option in iTunes down the left, but I can't drag a song in there.
QUOTE Thanks
cantona

PS: I have a (Windows XP) PC, not a Mac (I know, I know...)
QUOTE Thanks
Corbri

Corbri will become famous soon enough
Mac Specs: Macbook Pro: 7200 RPM 250 HD, 2 gig Ram, 2.4 Gig processor... IPHONE 3g

It's actually pretty easy. I'll explain. You just have to make sure you follow the steps correctly.

What you do is you go into itunes. You select the the song you want to make a ringtone out of.

Right click that song and select get info.

When you get inside the window for get info you select options.

In the options you'll see a start and stop time. Play your song until you find about 20 seconds of song that you want to be a ringtone. Change the start and stop time under get info>options to reflect the beginning and ending time in the song you've selected.

Once you've completed that step you need to select ok right click your song again. This time select "Create AAC version" it will make you another file of that song but only the part you selected and it formats it differently.