New To Mac-Forums?

Welcome to our community! Join the discussion today by registering your FREE account. If you have any problems with the registration process, please contact us!

Get your questions answered by community gurus Advice and insight from world-class Apple enthusiasts Exclusive access to members-only contests, giveaways and deals

Join today!

Start a Discussion

Mac-Forums Brief

Subscribe to Mac-Forums Brief to receive special offers from Mac-Forums partners and sponsors

Join the conversation RSS
Internet, Networking, and Wireless Discussion of networking, internet, and wireless including Apple's Airport products.

Macbook causing router/internet problems with other laptops

Post Reply New Thread Subscribe

soulz

soulz is on a distinguished road

I'm new to mac and the forums , so hi everyone.
I recently was given a new macbook 2.2ghz, 160gb white with Leopard loaded on it, I think it's OSX 10.5.1 or something and everything works pretty good, it's quick to load and shutdown no lag but i have one problem and the problem is that when i'm on the internet with my macbook, it will always cause the network to drop out whilst another laptop (Compaq, ibm laptops that my family has) is using the wireless internet.

But the non mac laptops when running together have no problems. It is only when my macbook is turned on and i go on the internet that it drops out, sometimes it comes back (but it's really slow) or it never comes back again.
I have a netgear WGT624 router.
My router can sometimes drop out on its own, but this happens all the time when my macbook is turned on with other laptops, but it also doesn't seem to happen very often when the macbook is on just by itself.

Can anyone advise me?
Thanks
QUOTE Thanks
Kalison

Kalison will become famous soon enough
Mac Specs: 27" iMac

I say... as long as yours is okay... its everyone else who has the problem
QUOTE Thanks
Mathiau

Mathiau is an unknown at this point