New To Mac-Forums?

Welcome to our community! Join the discussion today by registering your FREE account. If you have any problems with the registration process, please contact us!

Get your questions answered by community gurus Advice and insight from world-class Apple enthusiasts Exclusive access to members-only contests, giveaways and deals

Join today!

Start a Discussion

Mac-Forums Brief

Subscribe to Mac-Forums Brief to receive special offers from Mac-Forums partners and sponsors

Join the conversation RSS
Internet, Networking, and Wireless Discussion of networking, internet, and wireless including Apple's Airport products.

Setting up a wireless connection between a printer and a Macintosh

Thread Closed

em-jay

em-jay is on a distinguished road

Hi, I'm a novice Mac user, and I have a question (obviously).

Would any of you let me know if the following instructions are correct?

Scenario: I have a printer with a wireless network adapter and I would like to set it up wirelessly with my Macintosh.
  1. Open Internet Connect, and then select Airport.
  2. From the Network pop-up menu, select print server XXXX (where XXXX is the last 4 digits of my printer's MAC address.
  3. Open Safari.
  4. Click on the little book icon, and then select Bonjour.
  5. Then I double-click my printer model, and then click Configuration.
  6. Click Wireless.
  7. Then I change the following:
    - SSID
    - BSS type (infrastructure or ad hoc)
    - select type of security[/INDENT]
  8. Then click Submit.
  9. I open Internet Connect again, and then select Airport.
  10. From the Network pop-up menu, I select my original network.
  11. Then I install the CD that came with my printer and follow the instructions on the screen.