New To Mac-Forums?

Welcome to our community! Join the discussion today by registering your FREE account. If you have any problems with the registration process, please contact us!

Get your questions answered by community gurus Advice and insight from world-class Apple enthusiasts Exclusive access to members-only contests, giveaways and deals

Join today!

Start a Discussion

Mac-Forums Brief

Subscribe to Mac-Forums Brief to receive special offers from Mac-Forums partners and sponsors

Join the conversation RSS
Internet, Networking, and Wireless Discussion of networking, internet, and wireless including Apple's Airport products.

MAC vs PC Internet Speed

Post Reply New Thread Subscribe

oberdone

oberdone is on a distinguished road

Hi everybody,
I am new to macs (just got one two day ago!) and excuse me if I say silly things.
I got a mac book pro two days ago and was using my vaio laptop for two years now. I have a 4Mb connection with a router and so far I have been downloading stuff from the internet with speeds up to 440Kb/sec.
Since I have connected the mac onto the router, the speed has dropped a lot. Most I have got so far is 120Kb/sec and I am really worried for this.
There is not a problem with the internet connection / provider as far as I am concerned.
Do I do something wrong?
Can someone help me?

Thank you very much. I am looking forward for your answers!
QUOTE Thanks
bryphotoguy

bryphotoguy is just really nicebryphotoguy is just really nicebryphotoguy is just really nicebryphotoguy is just really nicebryphotoguy is just really nice
Mac Specs: Quad 2.8GHz Mac Pro, Edge iPhone

I don't know how to help you but the Macbook Pro should have a gigabit ethernet connector 10/100/1000. It should be more than capable of handling high speed access.

January 2008 Member of the Month
QUOTE Thanks
bobtomay