Mac Forums

Mac Forums (http://www.mac-forums.com/forums/)
-   Internet, Networking, and Wireless (http://www.mac-forums.com/forums/internet-networking-wireless/)
-   -   Mac on Windows network? (http://www.mac-forums.com/forums/internet-networking-wireless/48854-mac-windows-network.html)

TikkiRo 01-01-2007 05:04 PM

Mac on Windows network?
 
Is it possible to run a Mac on a Windows wireless broadband network? If so, can you perhaps provide me with info on what type of PCMCIA card would be needed for a laptop, and any likely problems?

Appreciated. TKR :headphone

Audio.Trench 01-01-2007 05:11 PM

Yes it is possible. I use an Aria Extreme by Sonnet in my G4 TiBook.

With your home network, is it set to MSHOME as the default work group? If not, you have to change which workgroup your laptop will be on.

Applications > Utilities > Directory Access - double-click SMB/CIFS and enter your workgroup's name and Quit Directory Access.

To view your networked computers, open a Finder window and click the Network icon on the left side, it should pop up with all of the computers on your network, providing you have them all setup properly.


All times are GMT -4. The time now is 11:34 PM.

Powered by vBulletin
Copyright ©2000 - 2014, Jelsoft Enterprises Ltd.