New To Mac-Forums?

Welcome to our community! Join the discussion today by registering your FREE account. If you have any problems with the registration process, please contact us!

Get your questions answered by community gurus Advice and insight from world-class Apple enthusiasts Exclusive access to members-only contests, giveaways and deals

Join today!

Start a Discussion

Mac-Forums Brief

Subscribe to Mac-Forums Brief to receive special offers from Mac-Forums partners and sponsors

Join the conversation RSS
Internet, Networking, and Wireless Discussion of networking, internet, and wireless including Apple's Airport products.

Mac Mini on network with Windows PCs?

Post Reply New Thread Subscribe

Woodzo

Woodzo is on a distinguished road

Hi- newbie here, so be gentle :headphone

I am seriously thinking of entering the world of Mac via a nice little Mac Mini.

However, I have two PCs, one running Windows XP, the other running Linux. These are wired into a network along with my partner's laptop (running XP) connecting wirelessly.

My query- I realise the Mini has an ethernet port but will it be happy running on the same network as Windows and Linux PCs? Will I be able to use the existing net connection my router uses? Will I be able to share files between the various machines? Will the Mac Mini be able to 'see' the printer?

Many thanks in advance!
QUOTE Thanks
tiffaneyJoy

tiffaneyJoy is on a distinguished road

When I purchased my mac mini I tried to connect it to my network (wired through the ethernet cable) and it seem to knock the interent connection out (especially if I turned the mac on first). Then I connected the mac mini wireless through airport and haven't had a problem yet. My network is only for the internet so i am not sure if it will work with the printer, I am still trying to figure that little problem out myself.

Mac Mini
1.83 Intel Core Duo
1 GB Ram
:black:
QUOTE Thanks
Slokunshialgo

Slokunshialgo will become famous soon enough