New To Mac-Forums?

Welcome to our community! Join the discussion today by registering your FREE account. If you have any problems with the registration process, please contact us!

Get your questions answered by community gurus Advice and insight from world-class Apple enthusiasts Exclusive access to members-only contests, giveaways and deals

Join today!

Start a Discussion

Mac-Forums Brief

Subscribe to Mac-Forums Brief to receive special offers from Mac-Forums partners and sponsors

Join the conversation RSS
Internet, Networking, and Wireless Discussion of networking, internet, and wireless including Apple's Airport products.

OS 10.4 - SLOW file transfer on home network.

Post Reply New Thread Subscribe

Yianni1066

Yianni1066 is an unknown at this point

Hi guys,

Im having a strange problem. File transfers between 2 macs on my home wifi network is incredibly slow!

I am new to macs so im still trying to figure out how they work. Basically i think i have a setting wrong which must be resulting in this very slow transfer speed.

I have a new Imac core duo2 and a Powerbook G4. I have a cable modem and an airport express which i am using to distribute my broadband. I have no firewall on either machine and no network security running (i know i know, but i dont want anything to slow me down. i check my dhcp client list to ensure no leechers!) This is working flawlessly!!

I tried for the first time to send a 300mb file across from one machine to the other and it says it would take 30 minutes!!!!!!! it is so slow!! i could re-download the file off the Net MUCH faster.